xpBargains Home | Dell Coupons | HP Coupons | Laptop Deals |
Buy.com Store Ratings & Reviews
Free Newsletter & Deal Alert

Buy.com

Average Overall Rating:

Average On-Time Delivery Rating:

Average Customer Service Rating:

Description: Computer products super store. They also have electronics, books, DVDs, etc. Very good customer service and prices are among the lowest. Free shipping on most items.

Go to store: Buy.com

More Information
View Store Deals
Read User Reviews (40)
Write Reviews


Buy.com Store Ratings & Reviews:


Over All:

On-Time Delivery:
Customer Service:
Aweful After Sale Service
Review By: kohyeekan on Jan. 15, 2010

Summary: Very bad experience with buy.com. The product is not actually from buy.com and is from some unknown, unheard companies. When I received it, there are parts missing. Call and e-mail buy.com and they just kept refering me to the companies that sell it (even give me the wrong company.) The company did not reply my e-mails and I fed up and don't have time to follow up after something like more than 10 communications with buy.com and companies. Not recommend buy.com for others.
Would shop in this store again: YES

Over All:

On-Time Delivery:
Customer Service:
Buy.com
Review By: wromx on Feb. 16, 2009

Summary: BEWARE!!!
Would shop in this store again: NO

Over All:

On-Time Delivery:
Customer Service:
They do not post bad reviews
Review By: Max on Dec. 17, 2008

Summary: I tried to post a bad review to their "Famous Maker 24-inch LCD Vivid Color Widescreen" (mine arrived with dark spots) three times, neither of my reviews ever appeared on their webpage.
Would shop in this store again: NO

Over All:

On-Time Delivery:
Customer Service:
Lies about in-stock items
Review By: Concerned on Nov. 7, 2008

Summary: Several years ago I tried to buy an item that these morons had "in-stock". Once they had my money they told me that they were out of stock and had no clue when the item would be in stock. After being threatened with a law suit they released my money back to the card used and I told them they had lost a customer before even really ever completing a transaction. Idiots. If this was eBay they would have a negative % rating.
Would shop in this store again: NO

Over All:

On-Time Delivery:
Customer Service:
Horrible business and customer service
Review By: Bob on Sep. 17, 2008

Summary: Buy.com is a very shady site. They advertised that they were interested in finding new sellers to sell products on their site in a marketplace fashion. We filled out their vendor application and sent the email to their site to make contact. Part of the application was what products do you have to offer buy.com. Our product was not being offered on Buy.com, but has been popular on other venues. A week later we get a canned automated email from them stating they are not taking new products for their catalog at this time. A month later I revisited the site. They were selling our product that they ordered through another distributer instead of us. This was after they did not bother to contact us in person and automated emailed us. If this is how they treat their prospective business partners I would hate to see how they treat their customers. Expect shady business practices from them and no gurantees.
Would shop in this store again: NO

Over All:

On-Time Delivery:
Customer Service:
Customer Service a Joke
Review By: LauraDJ77 on Jun. 26, 2008

Summary: I received my new computer in a timely manner, and began unpacking it. My problem started when I realized the power cord I was sent did not work with my computer. I didn't panic, but called customer service the next day, naively thinking they would mail me the correct cord, perhaps with a packing slip to send the erroneous one back. Well, I was wrong. I was told I would have to get an RMA online, ship the whole thing back, not just the power cord, wait for a 5-7 day processing time, then another shipment (not expedited, still standard shipping). I was upset that the whole process would take up to 12 business days - much longer than when I ordered the computer initially. It actually took 21 days, and customer service wouldn't do anything to help me. I will never buy from these people again - they completely miss the concept that mistakes made by them should be fixed, not compounded.
Would shop in this store again: NO

Over All:

On-Time Delivery:
Customer Service:
disappointed customer
Review By: pturvill (3/27/2008) on Mar. 27, 2008

Summary: The Dymo Discpainter I received was a used, reboxed item. It was missing some of the accessory items, its safety packing items had been removed and were loose in the box, and the ink cartridge was already installed and partially used. There was no indication on the Buy.com Web site that they were selling anything other than new, factory-fresh merchandise. Further, they reduced the price of this printer nearly $55 at about the time I took delivery, which just added insult to injury. They do not respond to emails, and seem to have no interest in making this situation right.
Would shop in this store again: NO

Over All:

On-Time Delivery:
Customer Service:
Buy.Com Mistake cost ME $109.00!!! DO NOT BUY FROM THESE CLOWNS!
Review By: Libertarian Kevin on Feb. 1, 2008

Summary: I try to make an on-line purchase of a $109.00 item, but received an "error" screen after I clicked the last button to make the purchase final. So, I call the offshore 800 support number (accents are very thick and difficult to understand) and told the Buy.Com person what had happened -- she assured me the order had not gone through, so I placed the order on the phone.

Well over a week later (free shipping, can't complain too much, right?), I get TWO of the items. I quickly go back on line to my account and only see ONE, but my VISA statement shows two.

I call the offshore 800 number again and am told there is nothing they can do -- even though THEY made the mistake. I get a return number (after 40 minutes of waiting for an available "Customer Non-Service" agent), but am told I have to pay the shipping.
I get nowhere, so I try "Customer Non-Service" on-line.

I send an e-mail, explain the Buy.Com error ... what do I hear? Sorry, since it is not defective I can't return it on their dime for full credit. I CAN return it, but I have to pay to have it shipped back ...

The most horrific non-customer service I have ever experienced, and no matter what the price, I will NEVER shop Buy.Com ever again!
Would shop in this store again: NO

Over All:

On-Time Delivery:
Customer Service:
I HATE BUY.COM do not ever shop there
Review By: miki on Dec. 30, 2007

Summary: I bought a camera from buy.com on dec 16th and forgoed the free shipping so i could receive it on time for christmas (an extra nine dollars)
A full week later, I checked on the status, and it had not even been shipped yet. I called them, after some stress trying to find their customer service number. I was placed on hold for 34 minutes until
i hung up. Over the next several days I tried calling with no luck of actually speaking to someone, just being put on hold. Finally, my order updated with a fedex tracking number. AFTER CHRISTMAS. I called again, and spoke to someone who didn't even speak english that well. She REFUSED to refund my extra shipping i paid to ensure christmas delivery, because she said it was in the "time frame" that they allow! I wanted to speak to a manager. She put me on hold again for 25 minutes and then hung up!
It arrived DEC. 29th. 13 days after I paid 3 day shipping for it. GUESS WHAT
THE WRONG CAMERA CAME. I ordered a polaroid, not a kodak!
I can't even get ahold of anyone or request an RMA online , as there is no way to select the order. I HATE BUY.COM
Would shop in this store again: NO

Over All:

On-Time Delivery:
Customer Service:
Buy.com continuously lies about "In Stock" status
Review By: george Greenberg 3/10/2007 on Mar. 10, 2007

Summary: In spite of daily contact and update request,shipment not made but item still shows as "In Stock" submitted march 10, 2007
Would shop in this store again: NO

Over All:

On-Time Delivery:
Customer Service:
Buy com lies about in stock status
Review By: GeorgeGreenberg on Mar. 9, 2007

Summary: Ordered "in stock" item, but after 4 days still not shipped. Customer service completely stupid with irrelevant responses and no solution in sight.
Would shop in this store again: NO

Over All:

On-Time Delivery:
Customer Service:
Always works for me.
Review By: Keelo on Jan. 1, 2007

Summary: I have placed 43 orders at buy.com since 2002 for everything from laptops, to tv's, to components, and have always been very extremely satisfied with their price and service.

The only time I've had to communicate with their customer service was when I ordered the wrong product. They paid to RMA the original product and paid shipping on the replacement.

NewEgg is a bit speedier on shipping, but not by much.

I use NewEgg, Buy.com, and ZipZoomFly.
Would shop in this store again: YES

Over All:

On-Time Delivery:
Customer Service:
Shipped Wrong Product!
Review By: DL on Dec. 21, 2006

Summary: Shipped wrong product! They sent me somebody else's order with that person's information and packing slip. Their shipping department is a mess. Stay away from this vendor.
Would shop in this store again: NO

Over All:

On-Time Delivery:
Customer Service:
Ship wrong product often
Review By: krish on Dec. 15, 2006

Summary: They Ship wrong product then don't respond to the email about it.
Would shop in this store again: NO

Over All:

On-Time Delivery:
Customer Service:
Programmer
Review By: rpengfer on Dec. 10, 2006

Summary: .
Price on item changed 10% in less than 24 hours after order. They would not refund the difference or cancel the order. This company is very hard to deal with if somthing goes wrong with your order. I have had the wrong order shipped and orders damaged in shipment. I would only use this business as a last resort and pray that nothing gets screwed up.
Would shop in this store again: NO

Over All:

On-Time Delivery:
Customer Service:
Learned my lesson =(
Review By: BuyersHelp411 on Aug. 30, 2006

Summary: Please make sure you checkout Buy.com - Help. You will learn Buy.com really does not care about its customers. All they care about it taking your money. I have shopped here and I have had problems. I learned a lot about their help. They will take your money as soon as they deliver your item but 34 days *more than a month* to return a refund to you. Also, see how you can contact customer service because there is no phone number. You need more then luck at this merchant. I learned my lesson shopping at Buy.com
Would shop in this store again: NO

Over All:

On-Time Delivery:
Customer Service:
Very untrustworthy
Review By: Max on Aug. 19, 2006

Summary: I placed an order to buy an LCD monitor on Aug.8, 2006, after seeing that they had it in stock, and would ship it in a day or two. Once I placed the order, I saw that the order status changed "Sent to Warehouse", and stayed there for more than 3 days. When I asked them what was going on, they told me that the item was not in stock and they had backordered. I waited another day and placed a cancel request as I needed the monitor quickly and I wanted to buy it somewhere local.

They now tell me that they can't just cancel my order, and that it takes a few business days to approve the cancellation! I am stuck with these guys now, I can't buy somewhere else and I have to wait and see what these guys decide to do.

I called their customer service number and it goes to some folks in India with awful, awful accent. I have had my calls routed to India before and I never once experienced a problem understanding what they were saying like I did with these guys.

I don't know of any other e-vendor that behaves this way. Stores like Amazon would never do such a thing.

My advice to everyone is don't buy from these guys.
Would shop in this store again: NO

Over All:

On-Time Delivery:
Customer Service:
Only one issue ever, and it was resolved
Review By: jondotcom on Jun. 30, 2006

Summary: I like Buy.com. They have usually always been timely with shipping (one exception... see below), have good prices, and their customer service is at least on par, if not a bit better.

The one bad experience I had is when they seemed to use some sort of 3rd party shipping company to handle the merchandise. It was a small CF card, and showed 'In transit' for a month on their tracking system. When I informed them of the delay, and that the rebate was no longer valid (which is why I bought the card in the first place), they were pretty quick to send out a replacement card, and issued me a $10 credit to cover the rebate.

Of course I would have wished to get the card on time, but stuff happens in this business and they were willing to step up and try and make it up to me. And that is what it is all about when dealing with retailers.
Would shop in this store again: YES

Over All:

On-Time Delivery:
Customer Service:
Good, Fast Customer Support on Coupon Problem
Review By: Matt on Mar. 6, 2006

Summary: I received a coupon in my e-mail because I hadn't shopped at Buy.com recently. I forgot to check my mailing address, and since I hadn't used their store in so long, my package was scheduled to be sent to the wrong address. I used the cancel option and made a new order, but the coupon wouldn't work since I had already used it. After I made my order, I contacted customer service through e-mail. They got back to me the next day and told me a refund would be issued shortly for the coupon amount. That amount was charged back onto my credit card within a week.
Would shop in this store again: YES

Over All:

On-Time Delivery:
Customer Service:
Shop elsewhere...
Review By: rp on Feb. 3, 2006

Summary: I had purchased something second week of Dec. 2005. My cc was charged promptly, but I never received my product. After several emails they acknowledged it, but I have yet to get my refund (Feb.3, 06). There customer service phone number is 1-877-780-2464. All they can do is relay a message from their screen.
Would shop in this store again: NO

Over All:

On-Time Delivery:
Customer Service:
Never Shop at Buy.com
Review By: Ned on Jan. 17, 2006

Summary: Purchased an item as a Christmas gift on buy.com on 12/11 with delivery promised by 12/18 with upgraded shipping which I paid extra for. By 12/20 the item had still not shipped with the status stating On Order with no delivery in site. When I looked at their on line store, it still listed the very same item as in stock and ships in 3-5 days. I could get no response from buy.com for many days, and they do not list a phone number on their web site. I ended up cancelling the order and buying elsewhere after Christmas, but they still shipped it several days later. Now I am in the process of trying to return the item. I will never, ever use Buy.com again for anything.
Would shop in this store again: NO

Over All:

On-Time Delivery:
Customer Service:
missing part in the closed box
Review By: upset user on Jan. 13, 2006

Summary: I bought buslink mp3 player from buy.com. There were no headphones in the box. I sent an e-mail stating this problem. They replied me to contact the manufacturer. I did not buy from the manufacturer but from the buy.com.
They did not help with this problem. I am not planning to do bussines with buy.com
Would shop in this store again: NO

Over All:

On-Time Delivery:
Customer Service:
Never gets rebate from buy.com
Review By: js123 on Sep. 10, 2005

Summary: Never buy anything from buy.com . I bought flash memory which had $15 rebate. Never got rebate back. There is separate rebate dept. I contacted them no answers.
Would shop in this store again: NO

Over All:

On-Time Delivery:
Customer Service:
Order cancelled without explanation
Review By: RobertG on Jul. 20, 2005

Summary: Ordered a keyboard because they had the lowest total price. They accepted my order, then a day or two later, in a standard email, said that the order was cancelled unless it was already shipped. It was not clear if the item had, if fact, been shipped. Or if the item was cancelled, they did not say why. Maybe out of stock? If so, why did they accept the original order? (A sign of poor inventory control?) I sent an email asking for clarification. No response. I have decided the saving a dollar or two with this company is not worth the delay and poor service.
Would shop in this store again: NO

Over All:

On-Time Delivery:
Customer Service:
Ridiculous Customer Service
Review By: gitane70 on Jun. 25, 2005

Summary: Good prices, but some products are not in stock even though the Buy.com webpage says they are. I recently cancelled an order and they sent it anyway 10 days later, and without the UPC sticker necessary for the rebate. So I notified Buy.com that I wanted an RMA # so I could return the item. I received acknowledgement emails two weeks ago, but nothing more. Their customer service is worse than awful. I don't understand how they can stay in business this way. I will resist buying anything from them in the future. I've had much better luck with Amazon and Ebay.
Would shop in this store again: NO

Over All:

On-Time Delivery:
Customer Service:
Good prices but a dubious association with an internet scam
Review By: Spikey on May. 29, 2005

Summary: Like it says, good prices but at the end of the check out process you have the option to "get your order for free" or $100 money back if you sign up for some email offers... Sounded ok until my CC started to be billed $9.99/month for these offeres... I caught it the second month, the company wouldn't refund my money, had to cancel the charges... ridiculos.... I think this company is in business with buy.com, otherwise buy.com wouldn't be able to have these good prices. I would avoid it and use www.newegg.com - a serious company with fast delivery times, low prices and NO SCAMS.
Would shop in this store again: NO

Over All:

On-Time Delivery:
Customer Service:
Shart TM150 phone deal on May 3rd
Review By: buydotcomVictim on May. 20, 2005

Summary: Bought Sharp T150 phone on May 3rd. It had two rebates $75 & $50 with 0.0 price. But when the shipment came it had only rebate of $50. I showed them all the proofs from different websites as an evidence of what they advertised but to of no use. They refused to honor their own rebate on the phone and advertisement. I challenged them to produce "the correct deal for that day" on their website but they can't. But they won't give $75 rebate either. The burden of proof is on the customer. Customer should be responsible but they can't.

One of Many BuyDotComVictim
Would shop in this store again: NO

Over All:

On-Time Delivery:
Customer Service:
If you live in SoCal this is a MUST.
Review By: Dan on Feb. 18, 2005

Summary: The warehouse where everything gets packaged and sent from is about 2 hours from where I live in San Diego which makes everything I buy from them lightning fast. I always use budget shipping which is free on most purchases and I receive my orders within a day or two of placing it as long as the items are in stock. Buy.com always has some of the best prices on the Internet and with free shipping that is essentially overnight it is the best resource out there for anyone especially living in Southern California.
Would shop in this store again: YES

Over All:

On-Time Delivery:
Customer Service:
will not honor extended warranty
Review By: spdsl on Jan. 16, 2005

Summary: Claimed my extended warranty was cancelled. No proof of cancelation. They put the burden of proof on me.
Would shop in this store again: NO

Over All:

On-Time Delivery:
Customer Service:
would never ever use buy.com again
Review By: sarainsd on Jan. 12, 2005

Summary: ordered 2 christmas gifts from buy.com, lowest price around, and items were in stock. now a MONTH later, and many phone calls and emails, being on hold for 1/2 hr at a time, the items were shipped to a wrong address, finally returned to buy.com, the refund i was promised has still to come though. spend the extra couple dollars and DON'T buy from buy.com. worst experience online shopping EVER.
Would shop in this store again: NO

Over All:

On-Time Delivery:
Customer Service:
Not worth it!!!
Review By: DVD_dude on Jan. 10, 2005

Summary: I went to Buy.com thinking that since they were such a big company and did so much business they must be OK to do business with...
WRONG!!!
The order was delayed, could not be tracked, and then once I got my equipment and used it for a month I found out that one of the features had never been working as advertised.... the manufacturer said to return it, but Buy.com refused.
The customer service guy said he filed some kind of report, but I never got any emails from them except unsolicited SPAM after my purchase. These guys stink.
Would shop in this store again: NO

Over All:

On-Time Delivery:
Customer Service:
One of the best on the Net!
Review By: Gadgetman on Nov. 30, 2004

Summary:

I do all my electronics, photo, computers, software and accessories shopping exclusively on the net, and used NewEgg.com, ZipZoomFly.com, Dell.com, Provantage.com, PCConnection.com, BestBuy.com, Adorama.com, BHPhotoVideo.com, Staples.com, eBay.com and others in addition to Buy.com.

I used Buy.com 18 times since 2002 spending over $3K in total (just checked my order history on the site) trailing only Amazon.com with 27 orders.

I think that Buy.com is one of the best on-line stores!

  • All orders were received on a timely manner. ALWAYS with a tracking number. Latest order was placed on November 25, 2004, shipped on November 26, and received today November 30, taking just 2 business days. Given the Free Shipping option selected with an expected processing and delivery time of 7-10 days, I think you would agree it was super fast.
  • Packaging is always superb, not a single item came in damaged.
  • Pricing is very competitive, they beat a lot of other stores, and have free S&H.
  • I have never had to return an item, so cannot comment on that, but I did call them a couple of times with an inquiry before making a purchase, and calls were answered promptly to my satisfaction, unlike so many other stores.
  • Overall, I am very satisfied with this store and would definitely recommend it to anyone.

    Would shop in this store again: YES

    Over All:

    On-Time Delivery:
    Customer Service:
    Never had a problem
    Review By: cmubigboy on Sep. 16, 2004

    Summary: I have used buy.com probably 10-15 times.

    I have never had a problem with them.

  • Their products generally arrive within one week of ordering and I have always been able to track the items as they are shipping.
  • I do not recall ever having to return something to them, so I cannot comment on that.
  • I have purchased items from them that had rebates, and I had no trouble getting the rebate.

    Overall, they seem to run a efficient website.
  • Would shop in this store again: YES

    Over All:

    On-Time Delivery:
    Customer Service:
    nevern buy from buy.com
    Review By: disappointed user on Aug. 21, 2004

    Summary: please.... save your pain dont buy from buy.com. service is awful. products dont ship for 30 days. no refund on time. i got my refund after 4 months. and that too 50 dollars less.

    i will never ever buy from buy.com
    Would shop in this store again: NO

    Over All:

    On-Time Delivery:
    Customer Service:
    I promise you'll regret it.
    Review By: I HATE BUY on Apr. 19, 2004

    Summary: Even if it says, "IN STOCK", it may never show up!!! I know what you're thinking "it won't happen to me!"... Read the reviews and believe it! this online merchant is horrible. Pay a few extra dollars and go with a reputable online merchant
    Would shop in this store again: NO

    Over All:

    On-Time Delivery:
    Customer Service:
    They spam addresses you give them.
    Review By: microwiz on Mar. 25, 2004

    Summary: I gave them a tagged email address as part of an order about 3-4 years ago, for use only to communicate about that order. It worked fine, no problems, no spam.

    About a year later I got spammed at that tagged address with content unrelated to buy.com. I reported it to them and they were extremely contrite, initiated an investigation, and sent me a $10 GC for my trouble. (It later turned out that a departing ex-employee might have taken some mailing lists when they left.)

    Fast forward to a few months ago: I started receiving spam at that tagged address again. This time, ominously, the content was buy.com related. I reported it to them and was basically told that yes, they meant to do that, and that they planned to send advertisement email to every email address they had whether they had permission to or not.

    I'll never buy there again. I strongly suggest that readers do the same, unless they want to support a business that sends spam.
    Would shop in this store again: NO

    Over All:

    On-Time Delivery:
    Customer Service:
    Avoid if you want anything timely or accurate
    Review By: Lawrence on Feb. 13, 2004

    Summary: Bought a TVCR/DVD player combo in Nov as a Xmas present for wife. A stereo shows up. Email (only way to contact them without paying $10 to call them!) them about their mistake, 2 weeks later they respond. Say they will ship replacement product, but no ETA, backordered. a few days before Xmas (35 days after initial order) the same wrong item (the stereo appears). No reply from Buy.com about error in 6 weeks now.
    Ended up having to dispute with Credit card company (thank heavens for American Express, they handle disputes great). I have 2 stereos, no player, and will never deal with Buy.com again
    check out http://resellerratings.com/seller2107.html for plenty of horror stories.

    Apparently if they have your item in stock, and ship it correctly (don't expect timely in regards to rebates, often ship late, and then you lose the rebate) then you are all set. if you have ANY reason to contact them, forget it.
    Would shop in this store again: NO

    Over All:

    On-Time Delivery:
    Customer Service:
    buy.com gift certificates
    Review By: boethius2 on Jan. 23, 2004

    Summary: I have used buy.com for years, but I cannot recommend their gift certificates. I am holding one for $50 and have not been able to redeem it, even after repeated communications with the customer service department. I have been trying to solve the problem for weeks and am still stymied. The site may be good for some products, but I do not recommend their gift certicates.
    Would shop in this store again: NO

    Over All:

    On-Time Delivery:
    Customer Service:
    WILL NEVER BUY FROM THEM AGAIN
    Review By: GRANDPAJAC on Jan. 18, 2004

    Summary: Purchased a Fujifilm Finepix 3800 camera with promised rebates of $30.00 and $60.00 totaling $90.00. Received product, cut out the SKU number and sent in rebates. The Rebate Centers advised that the wrong SKU number was sent in and they would not honor the rebates. Buy.com was sent several emails, order processing, customer service, sales and letters to the Rebate Centers explaining I was sent a product with the wrong SKU number with no response. This company screwed me and they don't care! This could be a Bait and Switch or Buy.com mistake. Take your choice.
    Would shop in this store again: NO

    Over All:

    On-Time Delivery:
    Customer Service:
    Very good prices, customer service and Delivery
    Review By: jmxnj at yahoo.com on Jan. 1, 2004

    Summary: No surprises. Prompt delivery. Great deals and prices. Will shop again at Buy.com.
    Would shop in this store again: YES


    Buy.com ratings brought to you by xPricer.com.


    Close To help other users like you Please describe why it doesn't work, such as wrong price, coupon not working, inaccurate description, etc.
    No HTML please.
    Name: (optional)

    Laptop Deals  Desktop Deals  Cell Phone Deals  Digital Camera Deals  Google Phone Info  Black Friday
    Dell Coupon  Best-Card.com  xpgadgets.com  XP Blogs  Facebook  Twitter  Mobile Deal News
    Find best online deals & coupons on computer hardware & software, consumer electronics and more!

    Add to My Yahoo! Add to Google Reader or Homepage Subscribe in NewsGator Online Add to netvibes Subscribe in Bloglines Add to My AOL

    Subscribe to daily deals

    Term of Use  Copyright ©2001-2009 xpBargains.com.