xpBargains Home | Dell Coupons | HP Coupons | Laptop Deals |
Dell Home Store Ratings & Reviews
Free Newsletter & Deal Alert

Dell Home

Average Overall Rating:

Average On-Time Delivery Rating:

Average Customer Service Rating:

Description: #1 computer manufacture in the world. Known for it's award-winning support. They sell computer systems, as well as computer peripherals, consumer electronics, office products, software and games.

Go to store: Dell Home

More Information
View Store Deals
Read User Reviews (49)
Write Reviews


Dell Home Store Ratings & Reviews:


Over All:

On-Time Delivery:
Customer Service:
Dell's Service SUCKS
Review By: Shannon on Jul. 14, 2010

Summary: I ordered my Computer in Nov of 2009. They promised it'd be there by Christmas, but it didn't arrive until late January. I didn't think that was TOO much of a big deal..

This week I had a problem with my webcam not working. I called Dell to fix it. When I purchased the computer they told me I was purchasing a 5 year SOFTWARE and HARDWARE warranty. Now, they're telling me that it was only a warranty for software and not hardware. Needless to say, after 4 hours on the phone with seven different technicians tonight, my camera STILL is not fixed. They wanted to charge me $200 to fix it. I'm thinking NOT. THe technicians did the same thing I told them I had already tried and they repetitively asked questions I had already answered bc they were abiding by their script! The technicians had NO clue what they were doing. I had to explain to them repetitively how I had tried the webcam manager and console... Still, they insisted on trying again (7 times!). They also barely speak english. If I had it to do over, I never ever wouldve bought a dell. DELL SUCKS!

The money you save in the initial buy you spend later on service that sucks. DONT let Dell manipulate you. I will NEVER buy from Dell again.. EVER! Dell SUCKS!
Would shop in this store again: NO

Over All:

On-Time Delivery:
Customer Service:
Dell customer service -keep all your records!
Review By: rbbrewer on Feb. 5, 2010

Summary: I was looking at buying a new computer and after seeing the deals on dell had to remind myself why I should not shop there. The first major offense was when i sent my second laptop in for service, they insisted I send it in for repair and I did so keeping records. They then claimed it was never recieved. I proved they did via the delivery records and they "found" it at the depot. I was shipped a replacement computer but it never came. I had already yelled at them for never delivering it. I recieved my fixed computer a few weeks later along with a charge on my credit card for $2000 for the computer they sent as a temporary. I asked them to proove it was delivered, they could not, but refused to transfer me to somebody that could address the issue. They literally on the phone accused me of keeping the laptop, and voided my account, with the charge still on my CC, which i had contested at this point. The next week a man from the office building next door came over with a box he said had been sitting in there office a while and fedex didnt take back.... it was the replacement computer delivered to the wrong building.... how dell could blame me for its loss, charge my cc, and produce no shipment documentation.... well you make the call but deal with them at your own risk and keep all your documentation so when you have to battle it out with your CC company you will have evidence.
Would shop in this store again: NO

Over All:

On-Time Delivery:
Customer Service:
XPS 8000
Review By: elbetanony on Dec. 17, 2009

Summary: i placed an order on November 25th, the delivery date was supposed to be before December 16th, they delayed the delivery again till Jan the 4th, that is ridiculous, more than 6 week to get a PC?
Would shop in this store again: NO

Over All:

On-Time Delivery:
Customer Service:
a
Review By: tiror on Nov. 25, 2009

Summary: I dont understand why the most of the people here are complaing.I had a very good experience with dell in product and member service.Do you think you are asking too much?You say that you never will go to shop in DELL but everybody is going to shop there because you like the price,if you dont like why you dont shop somewhere else when you can pay twice?
Would shop in this store again: YES

Over All:

On-Time Delivery:
Customer Service:
Never buy PC from Dell
Review By: harry on Nov. 5, 2009

Summary: I've experienced something very disturbing about the inspiron dell computers. I've purchased two Dell Inspiron PC and was shocked that one of my PC's hard drive is already gone. We don't expect to buy PC's every year. We should be able to use the product for atleast 3 or 4 years. What a bad decision I have made as I bought my PC from Dell. My friends and family alkways buy from other manufactures and never experince any problems. The worst part of Dell is Dell's customer service and technical support. Calling Dell customer service is my worst experince with Dell. So I would not recomend anybody to buy computers from Dell. I am thinking of publishing my Dell service experience in Toronto star newspapare.
Would shop in this store again: NO

Over All:

On-Time Delivery:
Customer Service:
Dell Service Sucks!!
Review By: anonymous on Oct. 7, 2009

Summary: Had to send my computer into the repair center only to find out that it wasn't repairable. the said they would send me a new computer along with the old one only to have to turn around and send them the old computer back. i was ok with this but they screwed up and sent the new computer to a different address, the old computer to my parents whos name was on the account, and the return shipping labels to my address. youd thingk they would check stuff before they send it. also i dont think there is a single person in that company that speaks english answering the phones.
Would shop in this store again: NO

Over All:

On-Time Delivery:
Customer Service:
Dell Customer Service is Nonexistent
Review By: kevabooks on Oct. 1, 2009

Summary: I have tried to order a computer, monitor & keyboard. I have been on the phone with a variety of Non-English speaking customer "service" people, and have yet to exchange actual communication. I should have walked into Best Buy. What a nightmare.
Would shop in this store again: NO

Over All:

On-Time Delivery:
Customer Service:
Owner
Review By: kevabooks on Oct. 1, 2009

Summary: I have tried to order a computer, monitor & keyboard. I have been on the phone with a variety of Non-English speaking customer "service" people, and have yet to exchange actual communication. I should have walked into Best Buy. What a nightmare.
Would shop in this store again: YES

Over All:

On-Time Delivery:
Customer Service:
DELL Customer Serivce - or non-existent of it all
Review By: Shuki on Sep. 1, 2009

Summary:
Ordered a desk top + accessories on Aug 22/09 with the estimated shipping date of Sep 8. Checked the status on-line today (Sep 1) and the estimated delivery has changed to Sep 17.


Called the support and the reason they gave me was that this particular model is very popular and they cannot catch up with the demand. I asked whether it was possible to cancel the order and the answer was yes (you would expect that answer, if the delivery date is over 2 weeks away).


Called son and confirmed he wanted to cancel and go to a retail store to purchase something similar, and called Dell 90 minutes after the original call, and was told it's no longer possible to cancel. I asked to escalate the matter and held for 5 minutes, and was told that there was not anyone available to speak to me but instead I will receive a call within 4 hours.


I used to have much better customer service experience with Dell (I guess that was in the 1990's) - wonder what has changed. Will NEVER order anything from Dell directly again.
Would shop in this store again: NO

Over All:

On-Time Delivery:
Customer Service:
Probably the worst online vender I have ever dealt with.
Review By: josh on Aug. 31, 2009

Summary: Dell seems to have the best prices on a range of products, but do not fall into the trap of giving them your business. I got a great price on a TV I really wanted. Waited a week, tracked the shipment online, and supposed it was delivered to my place while I was at work. I go home and it's not there, customer service is a nightmare, they love to transfer you from department to department, sometimes disconnecting you just for kicks when you become to persistent. I find out that they sent my TV back to the store, and they simply never notified me of this... I tried to ask why and because they use a shady mailing service called eagle, they themselves, don't even have details of your shipment. Finally, one woman said it was because my address wasn't confirmed on my credit card, which I had actually done myself a few weeks earlier. I asked if they could just send my TV back because my address was confirmed and they said no because it is now out of stock... even though the one I ordered is still floating around somewhere in the mail. Completely idiotic and unhelpful, you can just tell by the way these people talk that they dont' care about their jobs or the customer. I buy a lot of stuff online and have never had an experience even close to this bad.
Would shop in this store again: NO

Over All:

On-Time Delivery:
Customer Service:
Worst customer service!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Review By: mushroomblue95 on Jul. 27, 2009

Summary: Bought an xbox pro from dell because they had the best pricing and a week after I had it it BROKE! Calling dell customer service was an absolute nightmare and they refused to exchange it, keep telling me I had to go to microsoft. Nightmare. ITS ONLY A WEEK OLD YOU SHOULD EXCHANGE IT fell on deaf ears!
Would shop in this store again: NO

Over All:

On-Time Delivery:
Customer Service:
Dell's Download Store Sucks.
Review By: blech on Mar. 26, 2009

Summary: Just tried to download HR Block's Taxcut software from Dell's download store. Of course, you are required to use their proprietary download manager to download your purchased software, but that seems to be par for the course nowadays, so whatever. However, for some reason, I was not able to download the download manager software. It 'downloaded' in a split second, and the .exe was empty, so... looked like a file corruption. I began looking around on the download store's website for a customer service phone number to call, and finding nothing but an e-ticket form, I went to Dell's main website, got the customer service number, and called. After speaking to (no joke) 14 different people, I finally spoke with someone who explained to me that Dell's Download Store is run by a subsidiary of Dell, and is effectively a completely separate entity from Dell. Dell could not even pull up the order number - my email address's most recent order showed my last order from Dell from two months ago, and the order number for the Dell Download order was not even in their system. The resolution 'specialist' informed me that the only method of requesting a refund was through the e-ticket form on Dell's Download Store. It seems to me that the entire experience was wholly unacceptable. One, the download did not work, and two, I have to submit an e-ticket to deal with an international, customer oriented company. That's not the proper way to do business, and I will certainly not try and buy anything else from Dell's Download Store again. I *might* buy something from Dell's main store again, but only at a steep discount to retail....
Would shop in this store again: NO

Over All:

On-Time Delivery:
Customer Service:
Creepy Dell - A Study on How NOT To Do Business
Review By: mondolulu on Feb. 13, 2009

Summary: My computer/printer order was to include a coupon from Staples. The coupon never came. I called Dell Customer Service. Someone (in India) told me it was a mistake and my order did not qualify for this item. But it was clearly on my order, confirmation and invoice. As a matter of fact, I priced out several versions of my order first and the cost was higher for the order with the coupon...by the amount of the coupon. So I, in effect, paid for it because it was buried in their price. So it clearly qualified for the coupon and it was on all of my paperwork. Now, several months later, they said they will not send me one...it's a mistake, tough luck, go away. I even spoke to a Manager (also India) who was incredibly rude, sarcastic, and raised his voice at me. So I told them I will never do business with Dell again and I hope their little pricing rip-off scheme was worth it. Up to now, I have purchased several computers from them for my employees and for my home. So as I replace these, it will NOT be with another Dell. On the upside, I called Staples (I have an account with them) to tell them about my Dell experience and they had the common business sense to give me a credit to make up for Dell. Staples gets my continued business, Dell does not. I could go on about what I know about Dell's pricing practices but then this would be very long...just watch them like a hawk. Better yet, stay away.
Would shop in this store again: NO

Over All:

On-Time Delivery:
Customer Service:
Dell Repair Depot Did NOTHING
Review By: universityprof on Feb. 6, 2009

Summary: NOTE: Today's date is February 6, 2009. I don't know where the Dec. 29, 1969 is from.
Skill level of the Repair Depot technicians is incompetent. After four chats and/or phone conversations with Dell Tech Support, I was asked to send my laptop to the Repair Depot for a complete system-wide check. When I received my laptop back, NOTHING had been done because "they found nothing wrong with the system." However, as soon as I allowed the battery to run down, and then plugged in the adaptor, the same notification of "invalid or damaged bootable partition" appeared on the screen. So the lesson learned is this: As soon as you receive a product, run every conceivable application and practice. Dell does not refund the total purchase price of a Refurbished machine after 14 days from the date of original shipping (This is what the Dell REC internal policy is. However, the DEll website says 21 days). In other words, if you have a problem with your Dell product, you should immediately begin a trail of Tech Support (day 1 of receipt) so that you will have at least three recorded contacts. Then, apply for a Return CRA number. Fight for a waiver of the 15% restocking fee. You might get it. Returning a machine will cost you shipping, however. The bottom line: If you want a refund of a machine that NEVER worked, it will cost you $200. Buy Dell at your own risk; I will never do so again.
Would shop in this store again: NO

Over All:

On-Time Delivery:
Customer Service:
Dell Customer Service..The complete opposite of SERVICE..HORRIBLE!
Review By: kat on Jan. 15, 2009

Summary: I spoke with three different customer service reps from dell. All three were completely rude and not helpful. It didn't matter what I said, they didn't listen to anything I had to say, it was like talking to someone who doesn't speak English...OH wait, THEY BARELY DO SPEAK ANY ENGLISH! Seriously, It was very hard to understand what they were saying. They also talked to me like I was a complete idiot. I was treated horribly. I called because I had some questions and was a little bit confused about my account, and I got no answers and no help. All I got were people that could care less and were obviously ignoring my questions and reading off a paper or something. I can honestly say this is the worst customer service I have ever had. I wouldn't even call it customer service. No one deserves to be talked to the way they talked to me or treated in that way. If I would've known the customer service was so so BAD, I probably wouldn't have gotten a dell computer.
Would shop in this store again: YES

Over All:

On-Time Delivery:
Customer Service:
Worse customer service EVER
Review By: linda11004 on Dec. 17, 2008

Summary: On Black Friday, November 28th, I ordered a computer monitor from Dell. I had to call the 800 number because the site wouldn’t allow me to order online. After taking all my credit card info, address and name, and shipping address (I was buying it for my daughter whose monitor broke) and my daughter’s email address, the rep gave me my order number and said it would be delivered on December 4th. On December 2nd, my daughter was at her friend’s house and checked her email for the status of the order and realized she never received an email from Dell. I called my credit card company and they said a charge of $107.29 was put through from Dell on November 29th and then cancelled on November 30th. I called the Dell 800 number again to ask what happened to my order and here starts my nightmare. I had to call 12 times (not counting my daughter’s four calls to Dell) because every time I explained to the “customer service rep” what happened, I was either disconnected or put on hold. At one point, a rep, my daughter, and I were on a conference call at which time, my daughter gave the rep her home number in case we got disconnected. He supposedly gave us his extension also. He put us on hold and never came back on the line. We tried to call him back, but he gave us a six digit extension which doesn’t exist because the extensions have seven digits. And, he never called my daughter back. The first seven times I called I was transferred to a supervisor, in which case a recording came on saying “extension 0000000” is not in service and then I was abruptly disconnected. after the eighth call, I was told “I will transfer you to someone who can help you” and was promptly put on hold AND NO ONE EVER CAME BACK. The 12th time I called, I got a rep named Jack. He then does the exact same thing. after listening to me, he says “I will transfer you to someone who can help you” and AGAIN…………I was on hold and no one ever came back on the line. Why are these reps answering the phones if all they do is transfer me to someone else who never comes on the line? One of the reps that I spoke to asked me “what do you want me to do”? I said, since I missed out on all the Black Friday sales because I ordered from Dell, I want you to send me another monitor for the same price and free shipping. He said, “hold on, I will check with my supervisor.” HE NEVER CAME BACK ON THE LINE. I called the corporate office number that was on Hoovers and I GOT THE SAME customer service people. Unbelievable. Very poor customer service. And I am not the first person this has happened to. A few of my friends who had problems with their Dell computers had the same experiences, but they gave up calling because it was too frustrating. During one of these calls, I was told Dell cancelled my order because the monitor was out of stock. When I asked why didn’t someone inform me of this, the response was “didn’t you get an email”? NO, I DID NOT. And also, when I was asked what name was on the account and I told them my daughter’s name, the response was “the last name is right but the first name isn’t. I will have to transfer you to a supervisor.” A non existent supervisor. This is the most poorly run customer service department I’ve ever had the misfortune of dealing with. I will NEVER EVER order a Dell product again.
Would shop in this store again: NO

Over All:

On-Time Delivery:
Customer Service:
i hate dell
Review By: akanner on Aug. 18, 2008

Summary: i had ordered a new batter for my laptop twice and both times it did not come....Then after being on vacation and expecting it to be there it was clearly not...When I spoke to customer service I was also told twice that i was being transfered to another agent when I was actually being hung up on or disconnected. Just to reorder my laptop I was put on hold three times. Why does it have to be such a process...All I have to say is you suck dell and I hate you at this moment...
Would shop in this store again: YES

Over All:

On-Time Delivery:
Customer Service:
Customer Service is awful
Review By: rainyday on Aug. 11, 2008

Summary: Trying to order a camera this morning turned into a 1/2 of a day wasted on the phone with at least 25 reps (NO LIE) and in the end due to their mistake I have 2 camera's coming to my house (and charged for both of them) and now it's up to me to send one of them back if I want a refund. The rep asked me my info over and over again and before hanging up with him I asked if he wanted my email so I could have confirmation of my order. I didn't get any email after an hour and spent the rest of my morning trying to ask rep after rep where my order was, He gave me the wrong order #. Just one thing after another. Finally after being transfered and disconnected so many times I was able to speek to the customer care supervisor. She didn't do anything. She couldn't even give me 5% off my order, no coupon for future orders...NOTHING. They are such a big company that they don't care to keep their customers happy. So what if they lose one customer. I'm going to tell everyone I can on how much they sucked in the customer service department and it is sooo fustrating that they can't even have their empolyees be Americans. It's too hard to understand some of them and who can remember their names. Worse comes to worse, the guy who asked me all my info still got most of it wrong when I finally got my email confirmation.
Would shop in this store again: NO

Over All:

On-Time Delivery:
Customer Service:
Dell SUCKS
Review By: Customer on Jul. 27, 2008

Summary: Placed an order for monitor in the evening, phoned next day morning to cancell it... they said they have placed it for cancellation, but shipped it the same day, now it is subject to restoking fees and return policy.
Would shop in this store again: NO

Over All:

On-Time Delivery:
Customer Service:
Customer Service Sucks!
Review By: GPM on May. 27, 2008

Summary: I am a macintosh guy, & the only reason why I'm buying a PC is because of the $200 discount from American Express. I thought Dell would be acceptable.I phoned in after placing the order to verify my payment plan and was immediately transferred 6 different times by indian representatives & was put on hold for 22+ mins on my last transfer! when I finally got to talk to a rep, he intentionally cut me off & put me back on hold while I was explaining my issue. Too much english for him, maybe?? I called back and cancelled my order and was put on hold again for >12mins before finally cancelling my order. I AM NOT BUYING A DELL COMPUTER AGAIN. This is why Macintosh computers are superior both in performance & customer service. You actually talk to an american sales rep when you call and not some overseas rep who does not even know half of what you're saying.
Would shop in this store again: NO

Over All:

On-Time Delivery:
Customer Service:
Customer
Review By: JB on May. 7, 2008

Summary: I called customer support because I had a problem with the DVD drive on my new (2-month old) Dell desktop. I got through on a Tuesday evening without any problems. The tech had an accent (Indian?) but was understandable. Had to try a few different things, but after about 20 minutes, we found the problem and I was able to fix it. Computer is working fine now. I didn't have any problem- I'm not sure why some of the other reviewers here seem to be having so many problems.

BTW, the best thing was, I got my computer in 4-days - I thought that was very fast- the only thing I don't understand is why my computer was made in Tennessee when I live less than 100 miles from the main Dell factory outside of Austin, TX.

I'll keep buying Dell computers at these prices (thanks XPbargains for posting these great deals that I can never seem to find by myself!).
Would shop in this store again: YES

Over All:

On-Time Delivery:
Customer Service:
Had to jump on the bad cust. svc bandwagon (01/23/08)
Review By: abm on Jan. 23, 2008

Summary: Similar to many others, I called Dell on Sunday (says they are open) and after being dropped once by the automated system I was put through numerous menus. Finally, after about 40 minutes a message came on to call back during normal business hours. The next day I got online to "chat" with a customer service rep. who told me the price of the product was no longer valid (expired on Sat. and they only honor the price up to 24 hrs later). I explained that I did try to purchase the product and even had an email written on Sunday to customer service as proof of my attempt. He simply stated "I doubt very much that you could not get a live person". Basically called me a liar and then ended the chat. Frankly, Dell does not want my business and there is nothing they sell that I cannot get in a similar product elsewhere.
Would shop in this store again: NO

Over All:

On-Time Delivery:
Customer Service:
Never buying a Dell Again
Review By: Dell Home User on Dec. 20, 2007

Summary: Dell's Home user customer service has sunk to an unusable level. Problems include closing troulbe tickets before the problem is solved; customer service reps hanging up becuase the call knows more than they do; can't escalate problem to someone who knows what they're doing; and the automated phone system gets stuck in a never ending loop.

Dell Business customers get instant responses from Dell staff in Austin, TX. Home users get..........
Would shop in this store again: NO

Over All:

On-Time Delivery:
Customer Service:
President
Review By: Force on Nov. 19, 2007

Summary: I have bought only Dell product...to this point. I purchased a Dell Latitude laptop but it had a screen issue. I will keep this short, a week after contacting them I am still trying to resolve this. If you are looking for automated responses to your emails, no response to questions, and bad information then Dell is your place. That is all I have received so far. This is not the same Dell that I have delt with previously, and I can't recommend them anymore.
Would shop in this store again: NO

Over All:

On-Time Delivery:
Customer Service:
Dell Customer Support Sucks
Review By: pavel on Oct. 23, 2007

Summary: Although Dell offers atractive sexy line of products, their customer support is simply awful. For those who prize dell, wait till you have a problem and try to get a hold of someone. All I tried is to order new set of hinges for my older Dell D600 loptop. They broke off a day after my 3 yr warranty expired. Forget that, but after placing order I waited a week for new parts...nothing I called dell, they said its 7-10 business days, so I said well its already 7 days so you dont have much time left. I called following day only to find out my order got cancelled because parts are no longer available(no one call me to inform). I had to place new order that included lcd cover assembly with hinges. It will be another 7-10 work days. Everytime I call they tell me its 7-10 days. I must of been 45min. on the phone first time trying to get it repaired but 1 day off warranty sorry we have to transfer you to parts...I have been with tech support in India to sales in Panama...transfer after transfer-dell simply suck. If I am trying to purchase hinges for lcd panel and someone asks me "Is your computer running slow?" with Indian accent, no my lcd panel hinges are broken..my computer runs fine.... Dont get me wrong their products are good and I like my new D630 Latitude loptop(given by my employer).But their support is awful from my perspective. Its been 3rd week and I'm still waiting for my parts...Dell is focused on Corporate sales and service...if you are little Joe they careless about you, if you're corporate customer with 3yr totalcare contract you may get some attention from them.
Would shop in this store again: NO

Over All:

On-Time Delivery:
Customer Service:
Customer Service - non existent
Review By: J - in CA on Oct. 17, 2007

Summary: Unfortunately since I need some "dell only available" accessories - I am tied to them for a while. So yes, I will have to stop them again.

I am still waiting for a replacement battery ordered over week ago for next day delivery to my daughter in another state - Of course the battery is on it's way to me - ground in CA - 3-5 business days.

Who is running the show here? Three phone calls later with Dell assuring me all is fixed, I am so annoyed with the most recent CS telling me that they are following my instructions - Not! Luckily - keep that documentation - that is the only thing that saves the extra charges, which prove to be many..... And - still no battery!!!!!
Would shop in this store again: NO

Over All:

On-Time Delivery:
Customer Service:
DELL SUCKS
Review By: p_one on Aug. 1, 2007

Summary: I have been trying to reach dell about my Dell Prefered Account but to no avail. Someone actually hanged up on me. They are outright rude and no manners. Shop there only if you like bad customer service.
Would shop in this store again: NO

Over All:

On-Time Delivery:
Customer Service:
j
Review By: j on Jul. 10, 2007

Summary: ITS THE BEST AND CHEAPEST. SEXY PCS YEA
Would shop in this store again: YES

Over All:

On-Time Delivery:
Customer Service:
Business and Home Purchaser
Review By: Anna Cam on Jul. 8, 2007

Summary: For many years I have purchased Dell computers for my home and my business. (One other commenter is right -- business customers get better service -- consumers get the worst service.) The last 2-3 years, whenever I have called Dell customer or tech service regarding computers purchased on my personal account, the service has been horrible, including the following:

1. Dell sold me a computer years ago with an expensive DVD burner (when DVD burners were brand new) that they told me could write on DVD+R disks, but it turned out that the Burner could write only on DVD+RW disks. I spent many hours trying to get the writer to burn on DVD+R disks and calling Dell customer service, which did not help in any way. I found out from another source that I had been the victim of a bait and switch. Dell would not replace my DVD drive with one that burned DVD+Rs, even though they had sold me a product that was supposed to burn DVD+Rs.

2. I purchased speakers from Dell that did not power up. Tech support insisted that I run diagnostics on the my computer for speakers that would not power up! I finally persuaded them to skip their diagnostic script and let me exchange them.

3. On several occasions, I called them with OS problems. Every single time, they kept me on the phone for hours and ultimately could not fix the problem. I always ended up having to reinstall the OS anyway. And I was frequently disconnected, transferred around, and spoke to people whom I could not understand and/or who read from scripts and were not knowledgeable.

4. Dell did not send reinstall disks with my most recent purchase -- a laptop. I called and insisted that they send me a set BEFORE I have a breakdown. Dell think that it is OK for consumers to wait a week or more after their computer breaks down for reinstall disks to arrive from Dell (assuming Dell is in a generous mood and is willing to send the disks to you at all).

5. I needed to reinstall the OS on a desktop, but the Dell OS reinstall CD would not see my hard drive and could not reinstall. Turns out I needed a hard drive driver (I found this out from my office IT tech -- not from Dell) that I could download from Dell's website. The driver would not, however, fit on a floppy disk even though that's what Dell's OS reinstall CD was looking for (it would not accept the driver on a CD). I called Dell and had to fight for them to send me the driver on a diskette.

Overall, Dell's service (and products) have been slipping for years, but I stayed loyal to them. Except for the dead computer speakers and the misrepresented DVD writer, their products were generally good as long as you didn't need any service. Most of my issues have been with them as a consumer -- they treat my business's IT tech much better than they've been treating me as a consumer. Whatever concessions they may have given me, I suspect it was only because I made sure that they knew that I controlled a much larger corporate account.

My IT tech may like Dell because they feel they need to give to give business customers better service. But I found Dell service to be a waste of time and money and demeaning. Now, I've started buying other products and expect to switch to HP or another brand for all new business and personal purchases.
Would shop in this store again: NO

Over All:

On-Time Delivery:
Customer Service:
wow....worst customer service ever
Review By: dude on May. 24, 2007

Summary: I will never buy from Dell again. Their customer service, interest rates and their love of charging late fees even when you pay on time is classic bad business. Anyone at Dell speak english? Paying your bill online will cause late fees because the minimum due online is different from statement. Shipping from DHL has always been top notch. UPS and DELL might as well throw in the towel on customer service.
Would shop in this store again: NO

Over All:

On-Time Delivery:
Customer Service:
Lousy Technical Support
Review By: Jay on Dec. 9, 2006

Summary: I liked my new Dell Insperon E1505 until it ceased to operate after 5 months. Now, I have had first had experience with Dell’s deteriorating hardware Technical Support. I have talked with 7 different technical and customer care representatives (~5Hrs)who cannot resolve my problem in a timely manner. My support contract calls for “Next Day” on-site support. However, the two technicians and supervisor I talked to in India said the on-site support representatives could only replace parts and not diagnose problems and they could not identify the defective part. I would have to send my computer into the Depot for repair and I should have it back within 5 business days. After problems with DHL picking up my computer (a fiasco worthy of another negative review), I got the computer to Dell’s Depot in Tennessee on the second Business Day. An automated phone message from the Depot said it would be a 10 business days repair. Thus began my odyssey of talking to Technical Support and Customer Care Reps who cannot solve the problem of getting my computer back working in a timely manner. The latest US Tech support supervisor rep said it would be up to 15 business days (3 weeks). To speed things up, the supervisor said he could have it sent back to me broken and he could identify the part so an on-site person could install it (what I wanted to begin with). However, he could not get my computer returned to me broken for 5 Business Days (and two weekend days). So I won’t have a working computer for another two weeks. I am so angry at DELL technical support that I will never buy another Dell Product.
Would shop in this store again: NO

Over All:

On-Time Delivery:
Customer Service:
Listen to your customers
Review By: MoJo on Nov. 9, 2006

Summary: Bought an LCD screen from DELL and love it. The quality at least for now is everything I hoped for except for the bad cable or defective cable that was shipped with it.

I now have the correct cable but not before I had to spend hours on the phone through several phone calls with someone who didn't know a thing about computers and never listened to a word I said. I also had to put up with 2 deliveries of the wrong item due to DELL screw ups because again, they didn't listen to a word I said each time I called them back to correct the issue. I do like my new LCD screen but resolution of my simple $10 cable was so frustrating that I almost sent the whole screen back just to prove a point.

I will only shop DELL again if they have low price.
Would shop in this store again: YES

Over All:

On-Time Delivery:
Customer Service:
Where does the award winning suppot come from?!?
Review By: Dell Review on Nov. 9, 2006

Summary: The products are fine but the techical service is awful. I've been both a corporate customer and home customer so I've seen both sides of DELL. Corporate accounts get respectible service but nothing better than what is expected for the money they are getting from the corp accounts. DELL true colors in service show with the John Q public who has a problem. Home users are transfered of to middle eastern countries to individuals who seem to barely understand english and seem to know even less about computers. Support appears to be no more than new hires straight off the street given a diagnostic script to read from. It takes hours to get to the simplest of diagnosis even if you already know what the problem is. I choose not to do business with DELL unless they are the best source for the item I need. Even then I pray I don't need to contact them for any support. But since home users, from my experience, seem to be plagued with being sent the wrong or defective items you have about a 60% chance of having to call.
Would shop in this store again: YES

Over All:

On-Time Delivery:
Customer Service:
Very disappointing products
Review By: pae on Aug. 4, 2006

Summary: I don't understand why everyone recommends this brand. I bought one. They forgot to give me the ac adapter. Then they DVD-writer is very noisy and not reading. After that, there is dead pixel.

So I asked for exchange. They sent the new one to me. But the new one has a problem with some keyboards. They are really difficult to type. The worst thing is the DVD-writer is not working at all.

One defective is understandable, two in a row is too much.
Would shop in this store again: NO

Over All:

On-Time Delivery:
Customer Service:
Occasional problems, but usually make it up to you
Review By: jondotcom on Jun. 30, 2006

Summary: I've had my fair share of problems with Dell Home. Delayed orders, sending wrong item, etc. I've purchased a few computers and peripherals from them, usually through deals I find on XP Bargains & other places.

The redeeming thing about Dell Home, even though tech support is horrible ('Mike' reading a series of questions from a screen instead of attempting to understand the issue), is that when you have these horrible experiences, they're usually pretty liberal with handing out concession coupons. If you've got a problem with them, tell them. They will usually try to make it worth your while to stick with them. Everyone has bad experiences with some store at one point or another... it just depends how that store deals with the problem... and Dell does it well.
Would shop in this store again: YES

Over All:

On-Time Delivery:
Customer Service:
President
Review By: Chris on Feb. 20, 2006

Summary: I purchase computers for my business frequently. I had one to return which they received January 13. We are now February 20 and after wasting hours on hold speaking with several useless customer service people I have received no credit! I have currently been on hold for over 30 mins! I have never had such horrific service in my life. I will never purchase anything from Dell ever again!
Would shop in this store again: NO

Over All:

On-Time Delivery:
Customer Service:
Terrible Service and Delivery
Review By: AaronD on Feb. 16, 2006

Summary: I ordered a Dell XPS 600 on January 25, 2006 and was told it would take 7-10 business days. I waited my 3 days like I was told and then began checking the online computer status. The estimated delivery date was February 6, great, I was happy. The 6th came and went and my computer was still in the "production" phase. I began to get worried so I started calling to find out what was going on. After speaking with 4 different, terrible, consumer support reps, I found out that apparently, 3 different components I ordered had huge lead times (something that would have been nice to hear upfront). The last I heard, the computer was supposed to be finished production on the 13th and shipped to my by the 16th. That is today and nothing has changed. I'm sick of getting lied to and if I knew this is the kind of treatment I would receive I would never have purchased a Dell.
Would shop in this store again: NO

Over All:

On-Time Delivery:
Customer Service:
dell computer
Review By: william on Jan. 16, 2006

Summary: they're game is two to three hours of hold on the phone and then do nothing to help. I have just purchased two new dell computers and a new dell printer. Spent 2k with them and got nothing but troubles in return.
Would shop in this store again: NO

Over All:

On-Time Delivery:
Customer Service:
laptop
Review By: Kelly on Dec. 21, 2005

Summary: Ordered laptop in November, shipped November 30. Never received. I called Dell over 20 times and they always promised a call back that was never received. Finally, someone told me shipment was lost and would send a new one. It is now December 21 and still haven't received. I called Dell today and they PROMISED to call me back with in 24 hours to let me know why the second laptop was never received. It's not a money problem, received credit card statement with charge on there last week.
Would shop in this store again: NO

Over All:

On-Time Delivery:
Customer Service:
Cancelled TWICE for no apparent reason
Review By: Blondie5 on Dec. 19, 2005

Summary: My order was cancelled TWICE for no apparant reason! First it was cancelled as the delivery courier said he was unable to contact me on number given. He had 2 numbers! Secondly cancelled for some thing to do with my VISA card (they never had an issue with it the first time round), and my issue is, Dell have 3 telephone numbers for me, why not ring and advise???? Totally rubbish Customer Service that advise that I have to replace order for third time and they cannot do anything without me speaking to sales team. AGAIN!
WILL NEVER USE DELL AGAIN - Faxed my Dell confirmation to EVESHAM (great for PC's) and they agreed to build identical spec!!!!! EXCELLENT
Would shop in this store again: NO

Over All:

On-Time Delivery:
Customer Service:
Hopeless customer service
Review By: jbeswick on Nov. 22, 2005

Summary: My order got cancelled for no apparent reason. Sat on hold for 20 minutes then spoke to someone who didn't speak English and couldn't tell me what happened to the order. Then they hung up on me.
Would shop in this store again: NO

Over All:

On-Time Delivery:
Customer Service:
Sony camera came in a torn box
Review By: DellFrustrated on Nov. 19, 2005

Summary: I bought Sony DSC S-60 camera from "Dell Home" online. It was a nightmarish experience. The delivery person just left the camera outside my apartment. No signature or anything. The package in which the camera arrived was mangled. The camera package itself was torn. Their toll free customer service number was not so easy to locate but finally I found it and they opened a ticket. They never corresponded back to me after that. Luckily the camera worked fine. They never cared to send me an invoice either.

I would suggest that you buy it from online dealers that offer superior delivery and customer service. This rating site does not have any provision for attachments otherwise I would have posted photos of the torn and mangled box.
Would shop in this store again: NO

Over All:

On-Time Delivery:
Customer Service:
Supervisor
Review By: VashSpike on Mar. 2, 2005

Summary: I ordered the Dell 2005FPW 20.1 inch LCD monitor and saved $180 bucks using the 25% off coupon from this site. I only ended up paying a total of $613 total for the monitor. I think that is an awesome deal. I don't have the best credit so I thought it would be amusing to apply for dell's financing and I actually got approved for a purchase of $1500. My next purchase will be an Axim X50v.
Would shop in this store again: YES

Over All:

On-Time Delivery:
Customer Service:
Great deal
Review By: Dave on Nov. 11, 2004

Summary: I used the $500 off a $1500+ desktop coupon deal from a couple weeks ago and we able to build out a sweet system with a 3 gig processor, 1 gig of ram, 160 gig HD, 256mb video, SB Audigy, & 19 inch flat panel monitor for only $1100 including tax and 2 day shipping. The product arrived early on what was supposed to be the ship date.

I have delt with the customer service in the past for a laptop view panel replacement that was flawless even though their english sucks horribly and they just read from a script.
Would shop in this store again: YES

Over All:

On-Time Delivery:
Customer Service:
Great service and support
Review By: bapman007 on Apr. 5, 2004

Summary: I buy lots of PC's from dell for my business, never had a problem with service, also helps that they sell quality products.

I have my own sales rep and that works great.
Would shop in this store again: YES

Over All:

On-Time Delivery:
Customer Service:
Dealing with dell customer care is a nightmare
Review By: meherkn on Mar. 16, 2004

Summary: Placed oreders are mostly not on time. 1 out of four arrives at the right toime. The refund of money is the worst.
Would shop in this store again: NO

Over All:

On-Time Delivery:
Customer Service:
all my PCs are dell
Review By: blessed on Feb. 20, 2004

Summary: very Good return policy and warranty. I bought 5 Dell systems, all at great prices. Dell replaced my laptop battery via nextday overnight shipping without any charge.

highly recommended!
Would shop in this store again: YES

Over All:

On-Time Delivery:
Customer Service:
Terrible customer service and support
Review By: kam on Feb. 9, 2004

Summary:
Would shop in this store again: YES

Over All:

On-Time Delivery:
Customer Service:
good customer care
Review By: inspiron1100 on Dec. 1, 2003

Summary: ordered many times from Dell. fast delivery and good return policy. only bad thing is that if you call, there is long wait time and the phone system is confusing.
Would shop in this store again: YES


AT&T U-verse Technology

Dell Home ratings brought to you by xPricer.com.


Close To help other users like you Please describe why it doesn't work, such as wrong price, coupon not working, inaccurate description, etc.
No HTML please.
Name: (optional)

Laptop Deals  Desktop Deals  Cell Phone Deals  Digital Camera Deals  Google Phone Info  Black Friday
Dell Coupon  Best-Card.com  xpgadgets.com  XP Blogs  Facebook  Twitter  Mobile Deal News
Find best online deals & coupons on computer hardware & software, consumer electronics and more!

Add to My Yahoo! Add to Google Reader or Homepage Subscribe in NewsGator Online Add to netvibes Subscribe in Bloglines Add to My AOL

Subscribe to daily deals

Term of Use  Copyright ©2001-2009 xpBargains.com.