xpBargains Home | Dell Coupons | HP Coupons | Laptop Deals |
GameStop Store Ratings & Reviews
Free Newsletter & Deal Alert

GameStop

Average Overall Rating:

Average On-Time Delivery Rating:

Average Customer Service Rating:

Description: Broad selection of gaming products. Used and new.

Go to store: GameStop

More Information
View Store Deals
Read User Reviews (14)
Write Reviews


GameStop Store Ratings & Reviews:


Over All:

On-Time Delivery:
Customer Service:
gamestop.com online store experience
Review By: sunnyseattle on Feb. 1, 2013

Summary: This is a review of the online store and online customer service only. The employees in the local store are fine. Online is a different story.

Do not waste your time or money with this store. The online store is a bad joke. My order was cancelled, my gift card zeroed out, and the explanation was, the order did not pass security checks. ? Apparently either using a laptop is just plan unsecure, or using a gift card is unsecure, or using an American Express credit card is unsecure, or some other completely normal thing is unsecure. What clowns.
Would shop in this store again: NO

Over All:

On-Time Delivery:
Customer Service:
Customer Service? None!
Review By: youknow on Jun. 2, 2011

Summary: There are too many negatives, to post them all would take to long.
Would shop in this store again: NO

Over All:

On-Time Delivery:
Customer Service:
Give me a break people, the store is fine.
Review By: Mike on Apr. 1, 2011

Summary: I love the GameStop near where I live the employees are very nice and most importantly knowledgeable!

I can't stand to see people on here whine about how low some of the trade in values are.
Sure some are very low, but then guess what? DONT TRADE THEM IN!
They act like the employees are putting a gun to their head or something! They are a business and they need to make money.

I have never been pressured into a trade, if its too little I just wont trade them in, it really is that simple.

Besides that, If you work with the promotions you can make good money (I made $44 trading in my black ops with a promo!)

If you don't like it don't shop there. But if your a gamer and you want someone who knows what they're talking about, it beats going to walmart.

Would shop in this store again: YES

Over All:

On-Time Delivery:
Customer Service:
they are horrable!!
Review By: xgames4ever on Aug. 1, 2010

Summary: i went in the gamestop to trade in two games. one game would sell for $4.99 another for $12.99. they only offered me $3.25 for both games. i will never buy another game from there again. i say go to a local game shop insted of a chain. my local game shop is excellent in trades and only has 2 locations. what ever you do dont go here it is awful.

another time i went in there to find a raceing game for under $10 for a certin system and he reccomended the most expensive game for $49.99 i left the store immidetly. they also never have the game your looking for.

dont buy consoles from there because they say 1 year warrenty. i bought a psp from there and i had it for about 8 months. it started haveing problems with the controls in the 7th month. they gave me a number to send it in. so i called the number and i get some country where i cant understand the language. just dont get consoles from there.

dont get an edge card either they are useless for $15 all you get is a subscription to a crappy magizine.

just dont buy anything from there they are horrable!!

submitted 8/1/10
Would shop in this store again: NO

Over All:

On-Time Delivery:
Customer Service:
Customer
Review By: Misty P on Jul. 27, 2010

Summary: How Sad this place is, Went in to trade 6 games walked out with 1 and a cash credit of 2.89 how fair is that. Guess I know not to go ever again. They really know how to rob the workin hard person. Must be nice to have all this money and yet rob everyday people who don't.
Would shop in this store again: NO

Over All:

On-Time Delivery:
Customer Service:
In the butt, again.
Review By: AAAGGGHHH!!! on Apr. 13, 2010

Summary: I just recieved my first online order from Gamestop and got boned. I ordered two games using a code I had recieved,which lowered the price "X" percent, and instead of recieving my brand new game I recieved a used game. So i guess the code lowered the price by changing it to a used game. I called Gamestop and they were no help, somehow this was my order and if something happened it was my fault. This will be my last purchase from them new or used, online or in store. They charge to much for there used games and do not care about the customer. I recommend you watch ********.net or amazon for game prices. You can purchase most of your games brand new for less then what Gamestop wants for there used games, with no case or instruction manuals.
Would shop in this store again: NO

Over All:

On-Time Delivery:
Customer Service:
In the butt, again.
Review By: AAAGGGHHH!!! on Apr. 13, 2010

Summary: I just recieved my first online order from Gamestop and got boned. I ordered two games using a code I had recieved,which lowered the price "X" percent, and instead of recieving my brand new game I recieved a used game. So i guess the code lowered the price by changing it to a used game. I called Gamestop and they were no help, somehow this was my order and if something happened it was my fault. This will be my last purchase from them new or used, online or in store. They charge to much for there used games and do not care about the customer. I recommend you watch ********.net or amazon for game prices. You can purchase most of your games brand new for less then what Gamestop wants for there used games, with no case or instruction manuals.
Would shop in this store again: NO

Over All:

On-Time Delivery:
Customer Service:
Invoice link a scam
Review By: disgrunteled customer on Mar. 10, 2009

Summary: Justin at Gamestop CS 8008838895 needs a lesson in customer service. I wish the punk worked for me so I could fire him. No sense of customer service at all. Buyer be ware of links in invoice. You will get a charge from Reservation Rewards when you go to claim your coupon for being such a good Gamestop customer, Ha Ha! Lost a customer for life!
Would shop in this store again: NO

Over All:

On-Time Delivery:
Customer Service:
lieing assholes!
Review By: ...... on Feb. 15, 2009

Summary: ok this reviews about the local game stop store in Borden Town New
Jersey. first off i would like to say there nothing but money stealing liars!long story short i purchased a new xbox 360 that came with a free 1 year store warranty stating that if the system has any problems while under warranty it would be replaced free of charge.so just yesterday my system die's on me rendering it useless so i call the store and tell them whats wrong and they tell me to bring it in with the receipt and they will help me get on my way with a new system,(here is where things get out of my hands) so i bring the system in with receipt and they look it all over and tell me theirs no warranty on my system!the 1 year warranty was never up i had the system not even 5 months!so i kindly tell them that i had been given a 1 year warranty when i had purchased the xbox and the ignorantly told me i was a liar!and that i never had a warranty! so upon looking over the receipt i noticed that it said new xbox 360 system w/W.so i called a game stop that i go to more then the one in Borden town to find out what w/W meant and to my surprise it means with warranty! so who is the liar now assholes! think twice before fucking your customers out of there money that they spend at your store!

p.s. if any one ever gets a used system that gets red ring of death you where never to be sold that system!game stops not and i repeat not!to ever sell any systems that get red rings of death!a little research and friends that work for game stop help a lot! so if your ever in Borden town and want to go to game stop don't!
Would shop in this store again: NO

Over All:

On-Time Delivery:
Customer Service:
A vile rip-off of a company whose policies screw their customers.
Review By: GameStopHater on Jan. 10, 2009

Summary: This company, aside from mistreating its employees, systematically takes money from customers. Most of Gamestop's business relies on customers trading games in toward the purchase of new titles. However, when you trade in with Gamestop you actually loose a large amount of money. You could have paid anywhere from ten to seventy dollars for your game, but Gamestop usually only trades for about thirty percent of what the game is worth. They will also look for many reasons to apply a "refurbishment charge" to a game with a scratch, spot or any other form of visible damage. This often reduces the value significantly. most games, however, trade in for less than $10. meaning in order to actually buy a new game (used versions of newer titles sell for about $5 less than the retail price) you are actually paying more for that game. The price you paid for the game/s you are trading, plus what's left over on the price of the game you are purchasing. They will try to hook you with an "Edge card" but that's a rip off too. You save 10% on all used game purchases and get 10% bonus trade-in credit but the card comes with a subscription to a terrible game magazine called Game Informer, this costs $15. Therefore you would have to trade and buy used for a cumulative $150 a year to pay for the card. most people do not spend this much per year on games, especially used ones (used ones that are likely not going to play in your system anyway because they are mistreated by both the customer who traded the game and the employees there).

The will often have sales that try to pull gamers in like, buy two get one free and such, but this only applies to used games and during the holiday season, when this sale would count the most, most of the used games are already sold and the stock will not be replenished until the following month. Therefore, the chances they will have the game you are looking for is very slim, and the staff shows a general disinterest in helping you find the game, they just want you to ring up and leave.

The fact is, Gamestop is out to make money, just like any store, but their business tactics and the customer ripoff scheme disguised as trade-in deals has to stop. It hurts the customer and it actually hurts the game industry, since they are not seeing sales figures from that title. Buy new, and buy elsewhere, before the video game industry goes under because of this deceptive and vile company.
Would shop in this store again: NO

Over All:

On-Time Delivery:
Customer Service:
Worst Company Ever!
Review By: Some Guy on Nov. 13, 2008

Summary: I was in the Gamestop in the alderwood mall in bothell, WA for the midnight release of the WOW, WOTLK expansion. I had preordered and fully paid for my copy a month prior to the release. I arrived there about 10 minutes before midnight, I know the time was correct too (I use a watch that recieves the signal from the atomic clock) and they were already giving out preordered copies of the game, ok no worries ill just go get the "Final voucher" that they told me I had to get that way ppl could just grab the games and not spend time having to check out again after midnight. So.. I walked up to the store entrance and politely asked the guy at the door about getting that voucher that they had already given to the other 150 ppl that were there and he said that because they were already handing out the game that i could not get my final voucher and would have to wait until everyone else went through. I was like WTF!! I paid for the game in full all u gotta do is look me up and write the damn F on the receipt so I can get in line. the guy refused and said just jump in line and when it got to me theyd let me in to get my game. so I did, waited 35 more mins in the line and was near the middle point after more ppl had arrived. When I finally got to the door the guy stopped the line and pulled ppl from the back of the line to get them in saying it was ppl that preordered too, I watched them go in, paid for the game even though they hadnt paid in full already and walk out with the game. I talked to the guy again irritated now, he said that I still had to wait, then he called for anyone else that had preordered the game at that point so I jumped up and was like thats me and he was like no u have to wait. at this point I was like OMGWTF and asked why the ppl that had not even paid for the game in full were being pulled to the front of the line to go in ahead of me, he said the registers were closed and they had to open them up still. I called bullshit cause ppl had been paying for games and ringing them out for the past 15 mins now and he let 5 other ppl who had not even preordered the game to buy retail copies of it.

This store definitely has the worst customer service I have ever seen in any business. I run my own business as well and have never in my life seen such a horrible display of how to treat your customers. I recommend not wasting your money at this place because they say one thing about how they are going to take care of people and do something totally different. If it wasn't a law against physically harming someone for treating people like crap the door guy there would have been in a very bad spot, but they get away with this crap because ppl still spend money there to pay their paychecks.

PS: Im filing an official complaint with the chain tomorrow when the corporate office is open because that was an additional 44 dollars that could have gone twords gas over the past month. It probably wont get very far but the more people share about their horrible experiences with this company the more light it will shed on the absolutely atrocious customer service they provide.
Would shop in this store again: NO

Over All:

On-Time Delivery:
Customer Service:
Please do not do business with GameStop
Review By: sandman on Sep. 24, 2007

Summary: Customer service in these stores is universally abysmal. I don't know why I continue to shop in these stores after repeated bad experiences. It is almost as though EBGames/GameStop employees are trained in how to mistreat customers and how to be rude and condescending. Not to mention everything in the store is overpriced. I would much rather buy my games from an online vendor from now on, even if it does involve waiting for shipping. At least I won't have to deal with this terrible company or its terrible people ever again. Please, save yourself the trouble and do NOT shop at this store.
Would shop in this store again: NO

Over All:

On-Time Delivery:
Customer Service:
ordering from gamestop.com
Review By: gamestopsucks on Jan. 20, 2005

Summary: I ordered a PC game from gamestop.com 10 days before christmas, it was supposed to arrive in 5-10 days. Christmas came and went and no sign of the package. after 2 weeks I emailed customer service, no reply to that email. after 3 weeks I emailed again, 28 days after my initial purchase I finally receive an email back from them saying i have to wait 30 days before they can refund or replace the item.

On the 30th day I told them I still hadn't received the package. Six days later I got a reply saying that I'll have to sign an affidavit saying I didn't get the package, they'll refer the matter to the US postal service who will launch an investigation before they can resend.

Their customer service communication and shipping policies are the worst I have ever experienced. I will never buy from this site again and will even refuse to purchase anything from their stores.
Would shop in this store again: NO

Over All:

On-Time Delivery:
Customer Service:
Preordering through Gamestop a bad Idea
Review By: Wylkroe on Sep. 22, 2004

Summary: I recently preordered a title through gamestop on the 17th of September. The game release date was set for the 20th of September. It is now the 23rd and my order has been in processing status for the last 24 hours... My friends who ordered the same title have already received their copies from other retailers.

I attempted trying to bargain with customer service to see if I could arrange to pick up my order in store due to the shipping delays. They were unwilling to work with me. Many of their competitors are much faster to the punch when it comes to in-store pickup and timely shipping.
Would shop in this store again: NO


GameStop ratings brought to you by xPricer.com.


Close To help other users like you Please describe why it doesn't work, such as wrong price, coupon not working, inaccurate description, etc.
No HTML please.
Name: (optional)

Laptop Deals  Desktop Deals  Cell Phone Deals  Digital Camera Deals  Google Phone Info  Black Friday
Dell Coupon  Best-Card.com  xpgadgets.com  XP Blogs  Facebook  Twitter  Mobile Deal News
Find best online deals & coupons on computer hardware & software, consumer electronics and more!

Add to My Yahoo! Add to Google Reader or Homepage Subscribe in NewsGator Online Add to netvibes Subscribe in Bloglines Add to My AOL

Subscribe to daily deals

Term of Use  Copyright ©2001-2009 xpBargains.com.