xpBargains Home | Dell Coupons | HP Coupons | Laptop Deals |
Home Depot Store Ratings & Reviews
Free Newsletter & Deal Alert

Home Depot

Average Overall Rating:

Average On-Time Delivery Rating:

Average Customer Service Rating:

Description: N/A

Go to store: Home Depot

More Information
View Store Deals
Read User Reviews (51)
Write Reviews


Home Depot Store Ratings & Reviews:


Over All:

On-Time Delivery:
Customer Service:
Flooring Installation
Review By: Chris-74 on Aug. 1, 2014

Summary: In early July 2014, my husband and I went to store 585 in Houston, TX to see about having laminate flooring installed. The "flooring specialist" assured us that we could lay the new laminate flooring over the existing tile and laminate flooring. A guy came out to measure, we got the bid, and we went back to store 585 again to finalize everything. We were told AGAIN that we did not have to remove our existing flooring so we paid $2072.82 for the installation. When the installation company arrived on August 1, 2014 they informed me they cannot lay the new flooring over the existing flooring. Home Depot (store 585) did NOT care when I called them and explained what happened. They were very unsympathetic. They did credit my credit card back but were just like "sometimes this happens." Unbelievable. It has been a terrible experience and I will not be shopping nor recommending Home Depot to anyone.
Would shop in this store again: NO

Over All:

On-Time Delivery:
Customer Service:
Prodesk stole my project
Review By: freespirit91605 on Dec. 3, 2013

Summary: I brought in a huge project to the pro desk to do a bid for interior doors and the regional manager said my customer was on their commercial account list, but didn't know how to contact them. (REALLY?) He asked me on the phone and through an email for their contact info. I refused and he contacted them directly to steal my project. It was worth $240,000. They lost the job for both of us. Why would any subcontractor go to Home Depot for anything?
Would shop in this store again: NO

Over All:

On-Time Delivery:
Customer Service:
dr
Review By: jim johnston on Mar. 4, 2013

Summary: the management in the beavercreek ohio store are not very customer freindly. they really are not there to help you.
Would shop in this store again: NO

Over All:

On-Time Delivery:
Customer Service:
handyman
Review By: burrharrell on Apr. 11, 2011

Summary: the fact is at store554 in arlington texas. there are special people in this STORE who does a great in helping me getting my contract work done.these people go out of there way to help me.thanks OREO,COURTNEY,BRIAN AND ANDIE . THEY MAKE MY 45 MILE TRIP WORTH IT.THESE PEOPLE MAKE THIS STORE GREAT!
Would shop in this store again: YES

Over All:

On-Time Delivery:
Customer Service:
TERRIBLE CUSTOMER SERVICE,
Review By: WAVE OFF WASHINGTON PA HOME DEPOT on Mar. 20, 2011

Summary: I WOULD NEVER SHOP FOR ANYTHING FROM HOME DEPOT EVEN IF THEY WERE THE
LAST STORE AROUND. THE CONTRACTORS ARE FARMED OUT - AND DO TERRIBLE WORK AND STORE NEVER BACKS THEIR ONE-YEAR LABOR WARRANTY (WARRANTY FRAUD). HOME DEPOT CREDIT CARD SERVICES ARE FRAUDULENT AND IDIOTIC
AND IF ONE CARES FOR NOT THROWING MONEY DOWN THE DRAIN,THEY WILL
RIP THE CARD AND NEVER GO TO HOME DEPOT IN WASHINGTON, PA
Would shop in this store again: NO

Over All:

On-Time Delivery:
Customer Service:
excellent employee at visalia california store
Review By: tristanfarar at gmail.com on Dec. 18, 2010

Summary: I have never had someone help me at any kind of establishment as much as DARLENE ? did in the paint department. I was a nuisance and she was so patient with me. I dont have a clue about painting and i felt confident with her guidence. thank you darlene for your time and dedication. signed the personalized paint guy.
Would shop in this store again: YES

Over All:

On-Time Delivery:
Customer Service:
home owner/12/14/2010
Review By: hjimc on Dec. 15, 2010

Summary: I went to the Somerswouth, NH store to shop for a gas range. I have a difficult time walking and looked for a rideer carriage. They only had two and both were dead. The actual appliance clerk was very good and helpful. When I went to the cash register, the cashier made several mistakes, didn't know how to give me my Military discount, made two copies of the buy and gave me back the incorrect copy. They wouldn't budge on the sales price from the day before, that I missed. Okay, now I had to buy a propane adaption kit for $19.00 more, because they only sell them as being hooked up to natural gas. It never showed up with the stove when they delivered it. The delivery people called the day before and said that they would be at the house at 7:30 AM the next day because we were the first stop out of the warehouse for deliveries in our area. We waited until they finally showed up at 9:00 AM. They did not help setting it up. They just took the old stove out to their truck, dropped the new range in the middle of the kitchen floor and took off. LOWE's looks better and better. They even help you out to the care without being asked if you are disabled.
Would shop in this store again: NO

Over All:

On-Time Delivery:
Customer Service:
home owner
Review By: gary on Sep. 30, 2010

Summary: i will never give home depot 1 dollar of my money the help in the keene store is lazy my complaint is now saying the store was under staffed then why were 2-4 people standing around talking all in orange and pointing in my direction i would rather spend more mony and get service than save money and be treated rude my purchase helps pay there pay check.so dont make excusses my money will go to perkins lumber co for my full order of my addition
Would shop in this store again: NO

Over All:

On-Time Delivery:
Customer Service:
Kitchen refacing consulting
Review By: Nirvana on Jul. 9, 2010

Summary: Home depot personnel approached me in store for a free kitchen refacing consulting. I was interested and signed up. A consultant comes in and we (husband and I) put in 2 hours of our time during BUSINESS Hours (3-5 PM)listening to the consultant.

She insists that she could provide us an estimate after the whole exercise. We get the estimate and find that it is too high for our budget. We also find out that the 20% discount she offers ($3000) of a ~ 16,500 estimate is only valid for today. So, we clearly tell her that we were not planning to commit today and that we will be shopping around or looking for more estimates before we can make a decision. Yes, I did mention to her that she was my first estimate and that we are looking/shopping around for the most budgeted option. Is not every customer doing the same!!!

Upon listening to this, she gets so pissed off that she has wasted her time.. she gives me a lecture on how I should talk. She comments that I should not be talking to any consultant that he/she is the first one. She also comments that I should not mention about giving a budgeted cabinet but only look for the best quality ones that she would recommend (so she can sell us her most priced item).

She also tells us the usual banter that Home Depot is the best of the best for quality and other estimators will give us "Cheapo" stuff. She then comments that I should have had my previous estimates already done before approaching Home Depot AND I should have had this from from people who are from "my nationality"- claiming that they will provide the "cheapo" stuff for "cheapo" price (How dare she indicates that we are cheap right on our face!!). I don't know which dictionary has "cheapo" as a word.

I was patiently listening to all her bull shit until she came upon getting estimates from folks of our nationality! That is when I couldn't tolerate anymore and asked her to stop her banter and politely told her to get out.

It is really unfortunate that Home Depot has contracts with US Remodelers Inc that have AWFUL consultants such as this who are prejudiced!! and talk so rudely and harrass their customers on their nationality and communication skills! Yes, she is pissed that she spent all her time for nothing. But that is what a consultant does. We spent two hours from our daily jobs to visit with her as well and she speaks thus to us in our own house! She told me that she is from Czechoslovakia. If I were to talk like her, I would have similar thoughts about all Czechs which is so totally wrong.

After putting in all that time, it was a bitter experience overall.
Very bitter indeed.
Would shop in this store again: NO

Over All:

On-Time Delivery:
Customer Service:
"The customer is always wrong!"
Review By: notsoplainjane on Jun. 23, 2010

Summary: June 23, 2010: The woman who called to set up my carpet installation proceeded to argue with me regarding my installation that I set up through the store. She proceeded to tell me that Bloomington, IL does not have an ordinance requiring that carpet be hauled away by the installer, which she is absolutely wrong. She continued to argue with me about the details of our install. When I called to cancel my order, the store charged me a restocking fee, which I think they should have waived as a dissatisfied customer, so I canceled my credit account and will no longer do business at any Home Depot. Really do not patronize this company.
Would shop in this store again: NO

Over All:

On-Time Delivery:
Customer Service:
A Rude Manager
Review By: Lee on May. 3, 2010

Summary: The manager "Matt" of store #1106 in Lexington, SC is very rude to customers. I walked past him and said "good morning" and he looked the other way. I am a customer and this is not the first time this has happened to me. I feel like he could care less. I'm going to Lowe's.
Would shop in this store again: NO

Over All:

On-Time Delivery:
Customer Service:
"In Stock" is a LIE w Home Depot
Review By: LiedTo 4/13/10 on Apr. 13, 2010

Summary: I bought a washing machine from Home Depot online because................. because I NEED A FREAKING WASHING MACHINE.
The machine is on display in their store locally with signs promising next day delivery. I entered my zip code where prompted on the site, supposedly to determine availability, but this was a lie. It's not until check out is complete that they tell you they can't deliver FOR TWO WEEKS. So I waited like an idiot for 2 weeks while building up a mountain of dirty clothes. Then, on the day they were supposed to call with the exact delivery time, they left a message saying they couldn't come FOR ANOTHER WEEK! Not only are these scumbags bold-faced liars, but they are also in violation of credit card processing rules (which are not enforced if the company is large enough)They are supposed to reserve, but not collect the funds on your charge card until the item is being transferred to the buyer. Not Home Depot. Those scrounges grabbed the money before you could take a breath. All in all, since you can buy the same machine anywhere, there is little else to say besides "HOME DEPOT SUCKS"
Would shop in this store again: NO

Over All:

On-Time Delivery:
Customer Service:
Bad Integrity
Review By: sftwin on Mar. 8, 2010

Summary: Home Depot (COLMA, Daly City) integrity just went down the toilet! I purchased an Anderson Patio French Door and was told the door will arrive on Feb 23rd. One week prior, I received a message from Home Depot saying it will be delayed a week after. I've made an appointment with my contractor and had to canceled.

As for delivery service, they suck @ss as well. Home Depot provided me a morning time frame 8am to noon. I requested time off from my work just to sit at home waiting. And waiting. And waiting. The deliver man called the night before and said he will be there from 9-1pm (Most likely 10am). I called the delivery guy around 11:30am, and he said he will be there before 1.5 hours from now. Then he gave me a 2PM time. Does he know how to keep time? What a moron!

I will be going to LOWES from now on. They are opening up one in Bayshore, San Francisco. Can't wait!
Would shop in this store again: NO

Over All:

On-Time Delivery:
Customer Service:
change your manager/dec/31/2010
Review By: kay on Jan. 31, 2010

Summary: Hi on dec/31/2010, i was at the Bloomfield Home Depot Store and as a customer i needed help so i decided to ask a man by the name of Anthony whom i was told is a manager,i ask him for help,but instead of him helping me as a customer he was on his phone turn and look at me then walked away,as a manager what kind of example is he showing to the others,i am very upset about this,if that man don't change ,i will not go to the Home Depot again,
Would shop in this store again: NO

Over All:

On-Time Delivery:
Customer Service:
owner
Review By: custom walls 1/10/10 on Jan. 9, 2010

Summary: I was recently in the Home Depot Store located in Phoenix, AZ at 40th street and Bell Rd. While I was shopping in the paint department an empoyee by the name of Carol was so helpfull. She was very knowledgable and helped me in a timely manner.



Would shop in this store again: YES

Over All:

On-Time Delivery:
Customer Service:
The Artist
Review By: artist on Dec. 7, 2009

Summary: Is Home for real???? If consumers are interested in being subjected very dirty stores and rude store imployees -- Home Depot is is the place to shop.

While in Home Depot - one store employee told my friend and I he was working to get away from his wife. Two other male employees blocked our way and demanded to know if we needed help finding something. Than walked away commenting on how they knew how to get our attention.

I would never again go to Home depot and never order on line from Home Depot.
Would shop in this store again: NO

Over All:

On-Time Delivery:
Customer Service:
a compliment
Review By: Nicole Jackson on Nov. 27, 2009

Summary: in store 1747 520 N.Belair Evans Georgia there is an employee that stand alone above the other,her name is Tracy,I bought a garage door opener and needed help to get it in the car, among the men standing there she came out put the opener in the car by herself and in the rain.
Every time my husband or I go to that store she is there ready to help and do it with a smile.
It is refreshing to see an employee that do her job and do it with a smile. just wanted you to know.Thank you Nicole
Would shop in this store again: YES

Over All:

On-Time Delivery:
Customer Service:
I guess the quality varies from region to region
Review By: MikeDeForbes on Oct. 31, 2009

Summary: They seem to use the same project coordinators US Home Systems/Remodelers which our salesperson said is the largest kitchen remodeling contractor in the nation. They then subcontract to local people, so the quality of the work depends on who they use in their subcontracting. We weren't happy with our salesperson who called us back twice to tell us that there was a mistake and we basically ended up with a different countertop and cabinet facing than what we originally ordered.

But our project coordinator was accommodating and they gave us a cheap price on upgrading to Corian and threw in a new double sink for free. And when we called to complain about the toekick laminate peeling, they came back to fix it properly. I have to admit that after reading so many bad reviews, that I was scared, but in the end, I felt we dealt with some good people in our region who were willing to help us and make up for the mistakes. We are in the Southeastern New England region and the US Home Systems/Remodeler office was in Westboro, MA.
Would shop in this store again: YES

Over All:

On-Time Delivery:
Customer Service:
Home Depot Delivery Information/Customer Service
Review By: Jane Posted 9/9/09 on Sep. 9, 2009

Summary: I went to the store and was trying to buy a washer and dryer. Lowe's was having a better sale so I ask the sales person at Home Depot if they price match. The associate said no, it is not "apples to apples". As we where walking out I noticed a sign that stated we price match so I went back to the same associate and asked again showing him the sign. He immediately got very angry and raised his voice. I asked to speak with his manager who of course took care of us right away. At this point I was feeling better about Home Depot. We squared away our order and then we moved into the delivery portion of the sale. Myself and my fiance work very strict schedules and we told the associate there would be no way we would be available until after 2pm, the sales person guaranteed us that this would not be a problem. He even placed a note in our order stating this information. We finished the sale. I received a phone call a few days later notifying me that the deliver would be from 10a,-2pm, the exact times we stated we could not be there. I spoke with the person at the delivery warehouse who told me they NEVER guarantee delivery time and that the person at Home Depot was incorrect. After going through all the other delivery dates I found myself unable to be home for the delivery anytime. So I called the manager at Home Depot who stated even though his employee at the store gave us the incorrect information there was nothing they could do for us. I told them that I was forced then to cancel everything and they STILL did nothing to help me get what I was guaranteed. It has been a horrible experience and still have no solution I have spent over 1500 dollars for s product that they can not delivery nor are willing to help me figure out a solution that would work well with both parties. If I would have known I would have gone to Lowe's right away. Home Depot has zero customer service and lie to their customers. No matter if you have to pay more just go straight to Lowe's where they take care of you better!
Would shop in this store again: NO

Over All:

On-Time Delivery:
Customer Service:
Homeowner
Review By: Michelle on Aug. 7, 2009

Summary: The Beaulieu of America carpet I purchased and had installed thru Home Depot began to "Pucker" after less than 1 year. HD sent their inspector who reported that there is a "foreign substance" on my carpet and there is no factory defect. Whatever...!!! I ended up paying someone to come and re-stretch my carpet just to get rid of the puckers. That carpet repairman showed me the factory-defect delamination and also advised me that it didn't appear to have been power-stretched when initially installed, which added to the problem. I advised the HD rep of this, and they replied that they always use a power-stretcher. Since their rep wasn't here, and I WAS HERE, I think I know better than they do whether it was used. I didn't know at the time of installation what a power-stretcher was, so I didn't know to insist on it. He told me that the original installers probably noticed the delamination also but went ahead and put it down anyway knowing that it would be a while before I saw the puckering. If the installers point out defects, then the carpet can't be installed that day and the installers don't get paid. HD offered to send me a $100 gift card "for my trouble" and said they would get back with me regarding a resolution to the problem. After a couple of weeks of not hearing back, I called HD and the rep rudely advised me they had closed the issue because I accepted a $100 gift card as settlement. Who in their right mind would accept a $100 gift card as settlement for $2500 in carpet??? I sent HD AND Beaulieu of America pieces of the delaminating carpet and BOTH of them refuse to honor their warranty. Beaulieu's position is that it's HD's problem, even though Beaulieu is the one who provides the 20 year warranty. HD offered to SELL me new carpet at cost and I would have to pay for the installation. So their position is that I must pay to replace my defective carpet that was not installed properly.
Would shop in this store again: NO

Over All:

On-Time Delivery:
Customer Service:
Store Layout
Review By: PSUProud on Jul. 14, 2009

Summary: The State College Lowes is laid out much better than the State College Home Depot. The layout of Home Depot is ridiculous. You enter one door and have to exit another. I will not shop there again.
Would shop in this store again: NO

Over All:

On-Time Delivery:
Customer Service:
Avoid Kitchen Service at all cost!!
Review By: Angry on Jul. 7, 2009

Summary: Used the Home Depot kitchen renovation measure and design service. We were told that for $100 they would come out and measure and give us three or four different design options presented in 3D drawings. Over a month later we were told the drawings were done and went into the store to be presented with one design option that looked like it was drawn by our 10 year old daughter. We asked for a refund - they absolutely refused. We then asked for a copy of the measurements and the drawing - and they refused that too, saying that they will not release them unless we order from them. Basically we paid $100 and waited a month in order to waste time with a rude, incompetent "designer" and were still left without the measurements we paid for. Stay away from Home Depot kitchens or don't say I didn't warn you!!
Would shop in this store again: NO

Over All:

On-Time Delivery:
Customer Service:
will be my last choice to buy from in future
Review By: rc on Jun. 30, 2009

Summary: Nightmare of a place to deal with. Store displays items they don't stock. Response times more than double what they should be. Highest prices in town. Poor customer service and make promises they don't intend to keep.
Would shop in this store again: NO

Over All:

On-Time Delivery:
Customer Service:
abysmal home depot service with inferior toro mower products
Review By: tonymax on May. 8, 2009

Summary: my toro recycler self propelled 23" mower failed within 15 hours of light duty --- the oxford ala home depot customer service first responsibility is to absolve themselves of all responsibility... toro makes a sub standard product whose warrenty is basically unrealistic and unworkable... not only are there much better mowers than a poor quality toro but hopefully better stores which sell these products than home depot..
Would shop in this store again: NO

Over All:

On-Time Delivery:
Customer Service:
abysmal home depot service with inferior toro mower products
Review By: tonymax on May. 8, 2009

Summary: my toro recycler self propelled 23" mower failed within 15 hours of light duty --- the oxford ala home depot customer service first responsibility is to absolve themselves of all responsibility... toro makes a sub standard product whose warrenty is basically unrealistic and unworkable... not only are there much better mowers that a poor quality toro but hopefully better stores which sell these products than home depot..
Would shop in this store again: NO

Over All:

On-Time Delivery:
Customer Service:
Flooring
Review By: upsetbuyer on Apr. 7, 2009

Summary: I went to home depot to order carpet for a rental and I have had a bad experience overall. I called on a Mondayand it took the carpet installer 10 days to schedule an appointment to measure 3 days later. He told me he would be there from 3-5 but did not mention that I needed to be there so I unlocked the apartment and when I wasn't there he didn't even attempt to measure any of the rooms or call with questions.

Then I had to call 4 days later to check on the status of the carpet and then the sales associate told me she would have to check with the installer. It took her 2 more days to get back to me that he wasn't able to measure because no one was present. Then I told her we still wanted the carpet and she said they would have to reschedule. Now 4 days later she has called to tell me that they have to charge an addition $50 service fee to measure which is totally a scam because I already paid the $50 and it isn't my fault that he didn't get it measured.

Overall it has been a waste of time and waste of money on lost rent. The wait time to get measurements is ridiculous and to get it installed on stock carpet is terrible. I was shopping at the home depot in Logan, UT

I have ordered carpet from Lowe's before and I didn't have this problem.
Would shop in this store again: NO

Over All:

On-Time Delivery:
Customer Service:
VERY ANGRY
Review By: JoAnn Taverna on Jan. 12, 2009

Summary: November,2008 I purchased an electric range with the promise of a $65.00 delivery rebate. I received a letter on December 24, stating that my request has been denied. I have talked to several people and cannot get a straight answer. I am told that a different company is doing the rebates, I don't care where it comes from, I just want what was promised to me. I charged the range so I know they have a record of the transaction. I wonder if I withold payment and tell them I have a new bookkeeper if they would appreciate it.... I don't think so. I called the store in Jonesboro, AR and the manager hung up on me. I have been trying to get a repairman to check out the range because the door isn't closing correctly. The man they sent out had never heard of the brand and didn't know how to fix it. The range ia an Americana made by GE. I will never deal with Home Depot again and I wish I had read all of these reviews before I did this time. I had shopped there before and had no problems but I think nobody cares about good customer service anymore.
Would shop in this store again: NO

Over All:

On-Time Delivery:
Customer Service:
Home Depot Delivery BAD BAD BAD
Review By: Jjayyy on Dec. 8, 2008

Summary: Purchased a fridge from Home Depot. Nice enough sales guy and good price on fridge. Delivery guys did not tape doors shut and the freezer door swung open onto our rocks in front yard. My wife luckily just saw that happen and guy was trying to wipe it off and looked at her with a sheepish grin. They paid 150 bucks for that scratch. Then they installed the fridge. Later, when I turned on my sink water we got a flood at the fridge. Turns out the old fridge was hooked up to that line from the sink THAT THEY LEFT OPEN AND SITTING ON THE FLOOR. I called them and THEY REFUSE either to hook up the fridge to that line OR come and fix it. Will not buy (anything) from Home Depot again.
Would shop in this store again: NO

Over All:

On-Time Delivery:
Customer Service:
Home Depot flyer sale disappointment
Review By: Victoria on Nov. 21, 2008

Summary: Flyer sale for one day only listed a ladder at $29.97, down from $79.99. I showed up early to be proactive about getting one. Already sold out before 9AM. The flyer said also available on homedepot.ca, so I checked, couldn't find it. I called in, they knew right away "are you calling about the ladder?", "Yes", "Sorry, we are sold out and we don't expect any more."

Also in the flyer, sold out work light and bathroom vanity, all before 9AM. Did you bring in more than one of each of these Home Depot?

People are going to be showing up all day, asking staff what's going on, only to be disappointed over and over again. Way to go Home Depot. Your sale just served to piss off a lot of customers with shady advertising. if you are going to put on a sale, make sure that you have some product. I drove all the way there for this only to get shafted and so will many more people. Stupid.
Would shop in this store again: NO

Over All:

On-Time Delivery:
Customer Service:
Nightmare with cabinet design and installation
Review By: horriblyupset on Oct. 30, 2008

Summary: The designers make a LOT of mistakes in their designs. The final $ amount on the invoice will increase if you blink. The installers make even more mistakes and drill holes in the wrong places (even though you sit there and say you don't think that's right). The customer service representatives admit to the mistakes and suggest ways to "patch" them. However, they then charge you an arm and a leg for the installer to come out again and fix their own mistakes.

No one seems to have a clue about what is going on there from the get-go!


If I could give them 0 stars on this or go into the negative, I would!!!
Would shop in this store again: NO

Over All:

On-Time Delivery:
Customer Service:
Held Hostage by Home Depot
Review By: SouthernBama on Aug. 25, 2008

Summary: Email to HD Corp regarding the Dothan, AL store
To Whom It May Concern:
As I sit here, shaking in total disbelief and anger, I struggle to find the words that will convey my disgust and disappointment over how my whole appliance purchase experience has turned out. I now have a manager who has lied and said that I "threatened to chew out associates" who were scheduled to come to my home and pick up the malfunctioning dryer that was delivered last week. I now am apparently expected to knuckle down to another manager in order to have this appliance picked up?? What, do I have to kiss his shoes or something? Are you KIDDING ME??
Yes, apparently Chris believes the lie that Jackie said, and has refused to pick the appliance up until I speak with him directly due to "associate safety concerns".......I find this out after 6pm, when he has gone home for the day, and while I'm trying to find out why this dryer is still in my home after waiting for hours for them to come. I cannot have my money back, which is needed to purchase a WORKING dryer, until the store gets back the NON-working dryer, but they won't come and pick it up!! And did I receive any call telling me I'm being held hostage, any message or call at my home or on my cell? NO, I did not. I sat here, waiting and ready to follow the truck back to the store, all my paperwork in hand including proof that the funds have cleared my bank, just so I could get my refund and go buy a dryer. Yet one more time I have been inconvenienced by your company and its associates.
I never threatened anyone, whether it be physically or verbally, as a matter of fact I stated repeatedly that I am only 5'3 and unable to move the dryer myself without damaging it especially when I was challenged with "Why can't you bring it back yourself?!". Ummm, I think that's why I PAID TO HAVE IT DELIVERED. My SUV won't hold it, neither will my car, so I think my only option was delivery, plus the fact that I'm a 5'3 woman and can't manhandle appliances. But I guess it's okay for YOUR people to be confrontational, just as long as the wronged and inconvenienced AND PAYING customer doesn't get confrontational!! What I did say, and I don't have a problem telling the truth, unlike Jackie, is that she needed to warn her employees that I am very p*ssed off, and that I am a b*tch, to which she responded that I must be very proud....No, just honest, but way to improve my mood, smart alec. What do you all expect, that I throw my arms lovingly around your employees, offer them milk and cookies, and carry the dryer out to the truck on my back??? After the experiences of Friday, I was truly the angriest I have been in a while, and I told her that I wouldn't be nice. As in, "There's the dryer, let's go". Can you all be SO absolutely oblivious that you expect anything less after being sent a defective product, being lied to about it being fixed on Friday, and then finding out that if I wanted to return it I only had 48 hours to do so? I call to try and get it taken care of, and all "Jackie" can do is whine and moan about being short handed, her people taking off work because of school's closing early, etc. Again I ask, as I did in my first email, how it this my problem? It's not, it's hers, and by connection yours. Why couldn't she have tried to find another solution, like a Saturday pick-up. Surely school being released couldn't be used as a reason on a Saturday, or maybe the management is just so poor at that store, that it could have, I don't know. But I know that when YOU screw up, YOU fix it, YOU don't make it worse, which is all that's happened each and every time I've tried to get this dryer out of my home.
Please, for the love of GOD, just get this dryer out of my home, give me back my money, and I can promise you'll never see another penny from me, my friends, or my family.
Would shop in this store again: NO

Over All:

On-Time Delivery:
Customer Service:
HORRENDOUS Customer Service
Review By: pissedant on Mar. 2, 2008

Summary: Store #357 Coursey Baton Rouge, LA

Today I had the worst customer service in the history of customer service: spending 7 hours in home depot trying to buy a lawnmower. I had never in my life, trying to spend thousands of dollars in a store, and get treated like this. Assistance Manager Larry Cornelius lied to me on several occasions about a lawnmower I wanted while arranging for delivery and comes to find out, he tried to sell me a lawnmower that doesn't even work. He even refused to provide me service and wasted my time while walking around talking on his cellphone. In addition, Charlotte at one time called me a thief, and one other guy whom I failed to get the name, told me, once the lawn mower is delivered and if it doesn't work, it is my own problem. I'll have to find my own way to get it back to the store and loose my delivery fee. I feel like no customer should be treated this way. People there are just disrespectful except a few who tried to help but couldn't make any decision because Manager Larry is too busy on the phone.

Would shop in this store again: NO

Over All:

On-Time Delivery:
Customer Service:
homedepot.com cancelled order
Review By: jdc23 on Nov. 27, 2007

Summary: Placed an order, received confirmation -- then five days later it was cancelled with no explanation. I guess I'll shop Lowes.
Would shop in this store again: NO

Over All:

On-Time Delivery:
Customer Service:
BAD EXPERIENCE WITH HARDWOOD FLOOR INSTALL
Review By: csolitario Nov 2007 on Nov. 8, 2007

Summary: HOME DEPOT HARDWOOD FLOOR PROBLEMS:

August 27, 2007

In January 2006, we purchased hardwood floors at Home Depot, Arlington, Texas 76011
The floors were installed by Cooper Flooring
Carrollton, Texas 75006
After the floor was installed, my husband wrote a note in the comment section of he sign off sheet, that we were dissatisfied with the installation and that some of the boards were damaged when installed. Also the molding was not flush to the wall in the dinning area. We really thought that someone from Home Depot would contact us about our comments of dissatisfaction. No one called. After a few weeks we started trying to contact someone at Home Depot to help us. We tried numerous times to contact Home Depot to tell them of our concern in regards to the floor and the installation. No one seemed to be too concerned. At one time, my husband and I went to the flooring department at Home Depot and spoke with the salesman in that department and told him that one of the boards had come up on the end and was splintering and a small part had even broken off. The salesman told us we could probably just super glue it back down. I told him, I did not think that would look very good. During the year we tried many times to get help from Home Depot on this matter, with no success. Finally around March of 2007, I took the paperwork, which showed where my husband had written the remarks in the comment section for the sign off on the installation (of our dissatisfaction), to the store along with the piece of the wood that broken off, and spoke with a Brad at the service desk. I showed him the paperwork where we signed off with dissatisfaction. He said he had no notes where we had been in or called. I told him we had called on numerous occasions, each time thinking someone would contact us. He said the warranty was out and did not know if there was anything that could be done. I told him, we had tried many times to get someone to help us with this problem for a year. He said he would see what he could do. After a couple of weeks, Laura from Home Depot, called and said she had taken over for Brad. She seemed really interested in helping us get this resolved and I felt like finally someone was interested in getting this resolved. She arranged for a private inspector to come and inspect the floor. Did not hear from Home Depot for several days so I contacted Laura to find results of inspection. The inspector had determined that some boards did need to be replaced. I was given the number to Cooper Flooring and told to call them. This was the first time that I realized that we needed to have someone else involved in our problem. I thought everything was handled by Home Depot and did not realize I was responsible for notifying other parties. It took several days and several calls before they made arrangements for us to pick up one box of wood from Home Depot, which Home Depot had authorized. They were going to repair our floor. This was in April of 2007. At last we felt we would get our problem resolved.

June 20, 2007
Mario, from Cooper Flooring came to repair our floor. I was not sure just what he was going to do. Mario came in and looked around and was surprised to see all the damaged wood and the bad installation. He shook his head and asked “who did this installation?” We told him someone from Cooper Flooring. There were gaps in between boards and also end to end. After looking at the installation and the damaged boards, Mario concluded that it would take 4 ‘more’ boxes of wood to do the repair work.(I was told by Cooper Flooring that Mario was an expert and that repairs was his expertise…so I trusted what Mario said as truth) He said you have to replace a section, not just ‘a board’. He was on the phone with Cooper Flooring and Home Depot for quite a while, discussing this matter. After he completed his conversation, he told me that Home Depot wanted to talk to me. Laura said she would get back with me. She never called and after several days I called her back and she finally told me to make arrangements to pick up ‘4 more boxes of wood’ and they would pay to repair the floor. Once again, I felt the wait would be worth it. My husband went to Home Depot to pick up the other 4 boxes of wood.
July 3, 2007
Roger and crew from Cooper Flooring showed up to do repair. Roger and crew started getting the boards out to measure what they needed and then said “we have a problem”, “they boards are not the right length”. They had to call their boss to see what to do. While they waited for the boss to make a decision, they talked about the way the floor was installed. They noticed the gaps in between and end to end and said they “use the blue tape to hold the boards so there won’t leave gaps like this, when they do installations”. They also said it looked like the “top layer of wood was coming off”. They also said the “molding should have been nailed to the wall and putted if necessary”. The molding in the dining room, which my husband noted in the comments on the sign off sheet, was not even nailed to the wall, and was not even flush to the wall. It is my opinion that they felt like, from their remarks, that it was not a good installation. Mario, the first repairman that came, out seemed to fill the same way, from his comments. Finally, Laura from Home Depot called me back and said the repairmen found only ‘4 boards out of the entire 5 boxes’ of wood that would fit and that would be all they would repair. She said she cannot continue to send out boxes of wood. I told her we could not continue to pick up boxes of wood either. She said they could repair only the 4 boards or I could take them to court if I wanted to.

Roger said they could only replace the 4 boards that they were authorized to do. He said they could put wood putty in between all the gaps in the floor. That is not ‘fixing our problem’ in my opinion. I think that wood putty on expensive wood floors would look awful. I told Roger and his crew just to leave, that replacing only the 4 boards would not fix the problem. We paid good money for this floor and to half way patch up the job is a messy fix is not acceptable. I called customer service and spoke with Nicole.
I told Nicole my concerns. She tried to get Laura Lee on the phone but could not get her. I spoke with Nicole the next day and she said she spoke with a manager from home depot and the manager would get with Laura and find out what is going on. She said they would call me that same day. I did not hear from Home Depot the next couple of days and I tried to contact Nicole several times and could not reach her. I spoke with a Michelle at Customer care on August 3, 2007 and she pulled up my records and said she would email Nicole and tell her that I had not heard from home depot. I did not hear from Nicole the next morning so I called her. She apologized and said she had been sick. On Monday, August 6, 2007 I heard from Laura Lee at home depot. She said ‘evidently you contacted someone at customer care…then she asked me “what is it that you want?” I told her I wanted my floor fixed. She said the guys replaced the 4 boards and that was all they were going to do. I told her that they had not replaced any of them. I asked her,” I have 5 boxes of wood and that only 4 boards was all that would fit”? She said they were only going to replace the “delaminated boards”. I asked her what a delaminated board was and she could not tell me. She said I would have to call Armstrong Flooring to find out. She was not too happy at this time. and seemed irritated that I had called customer care.

She then changed her mind and said she would have Armstrong to come out and do another inspection..

On August 14, 2007, an Armstrong inspector came out. He said he would get the report to the retailer the next day. He said I should hear from the retailer within 1 week.

The report was supposed to be turned in on August 15,2007 according to the inspector and I never heard from Home Depot. Finally on August 27, 2007 to pay for installation and repair of only “2” boards according to the report. This is only for the damaged boards according to Armstrong, the wood floor supplier, and nothing to do with the installation.

Home Depot and Cooper Flooring must have felt some responsibility and wanted to make things right by supplying us with one box of wood to use to repair the floor after the examination was done by first inspector. I did not know how much one box would repair. They also much have had some confidence in the repairman, Mario’s judgment in determining that we needed another 4 boxes of wood to repair the floor to a reasonable fix, or they would not have had us to pick up 4 more boxes of wood. I fell that Home Depot is responsible for a good installation and damaged boards. A messy fix and wood putty is not acceptable. I am not sure why the boards did not ‘fit’, but Home Depot should know about wood installations better than us. We have 5 boxes of engineered wood still setting in our living room floor.

We have more than 1 issue, the boards and the installation. If Armstrong Flooring is responsible for replacing only delimited boards, maybe there were only 2, I am not sure, since I do not know what delimited means. However there are splintered and damaged boards. Also, I think that the installation is a big factor and that Home Depot and Cooper Flooring should be held responsible for this. We have done much business with Home Depot, but will not in the future.

Saturday, September 1, 2007, I received a call from Amber at Customer Care for Home Depot. She said my case had been transferred from Nicole to her. She asked me if a resolution had been made to my satisfaction after the last inspection. I told her that I was not satisfied with the last phone message I had from Laura. She told me to call Laura at Home Depot and see if we can work it out. I told her that Laura would probably tell me to take a hike, that the message that she left me was all they were willing to do. I called Laura in the AM on Sept 2, 2007. A lady that worked there said Laura Lee just left to go pick up a prescription and she would be right back. I asked her if I could leave a message, she said yes. I left my name and number and asked her to call me. I did not receive a call from her all day on the 2nd.

In a week or so, Amber, from customer care called me and asked if I had gotten a confirmation number from Home Depot as to the results of the last investigation. I told her I had not heard back from Home Depot since I last talked to her. That was when Laura had called and left a message on my message machine saying that Armstrong would only replace 2 boards and she did not give me a confirmation number. I told her again of my dissatisfaction and frustration. She said she would look in my file and see if she could find any notes where we had called during the first year. She said that customer care was only obligated to honor the warranty and if a store takes it upon itself to go beyond that, it would be up to the independent store to take care of any situation. She told me if she found anything she would call me back.

September 7, 2007 and I have not heard back from Customer care. I suppose that Amber did not find any thing that would help us. I did receive a call from Laura at Home Depot today. She was very nice and said she had not heard back from me since she left the message that Armstrong would only replace the 2 boards and wondered what I wanted them to do. I told her I was not happy with the wood or the installation and did not think that replacing the 2 boards would solve anything for us. Laura said she would talk to her zone manager and have him to call us Monday or Tuesday of next week. She said he could do more on his level than she could. She was very nice and seemed to want to get this resolved.

NEVER HEARD BACK FROM ANYONE AT HOME DEPOT !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! NO ZONE MANAGER EVER CALLED ME. STILL NOT RESOLVED. WOULD NOT RECOMMEND HOME DEPOT TO ANYONE.
Would shop in this store again: NO

Over All:

On-Time Delivery:
Customer Service:
Horrible customer service, incompetent staff
Review By: Dee on Oct. 29, 2007

Summary:
I had a horrible experience recently and have made it a point to advertise my experience so that people won't make the same mistake as I did.

We bought a house recently and wanted to change out the carpet and have laminate flooring installed. We contacted Home Depot who came out a week later to take measurements. We were promised a quote within 48 hours, but nothing happened and we called instead to get a quote. Since it was cheaper compared to another quote, we agreed to get it done and opened a HD credit account as well. That was the start of our woes!

The 21 cases of flooring were supposed to have come in on Oct 7 (they actually came in on Oct 5, 2007) and we were promised to be called as soon as they came in, which never happened. We went in person and inquired on Oct 14 and were told that it was there from Oct 5. Finally, we went on the 16th to pick up the cases. We were given 6 cases (which we didn't realize until we unloaded them at home). We went back to HD and asked about the rest of the cases. After waiting about 40 minutes, and speaking to two different people, we were told that Receiving had "screwed up" and marked as accepting 21 cases when only 6 had showed up from the vendor. After about 3 days of waiting for an answer, we finally made another visit to HD and were told that this issue would be taken of immediately. The next day we received a call saying that they had to order 21 cases again and that we should return the 6 that we had picked up.

At this point, I lost my patience and told them they should come pick the cases up instead, to which they agreed. The shipment of 21 cases never came and after a week of going to the HD store again, we lost it completely and cancelled our order.

The entire process took 45 days and we didn't even get it done at the end. It pushed our move in date by 21 days and we had to pay an extra month of rent at the apartment. We have pushed our laminate flooring plans to next year and worst of all, I have a totally worthless credit card on my history. The staff was not even apologetic about the incident and we had a total of 4 people deal with us on this mishap!

PLEASE DO NOT USE HOME DEPOT!
Would shop in this store again: NO

Over All:

On-Time Delivery:
Customer Service:
Deceptive Practices on HomeDepot.com
Review By: dave34733 on Sep. 6, 2007

Summary: On Sept. 1, 2007 I ordered a refrigerator for home delivery via homedepot.com, the website advising me that there was "free delivery" (a $55 charge rebated) for all purchases over $299 between Feb. 20, 2007 and Sept. 5, 2007. I downloaded the rebate form, which contained all of the above information. The charge for the refrigerator was approximately $360.00, so I was comfortable knowing that I would get the rebate.

Then, five days later, Home Depot called and said the rebate wasn't available except for purchases above $399, and my purchase didn't qualify. They asked if I wanted them to raise the price to $399 or forget the rebate.

Instead I told them I'd just picked up a microwave for $95 at one of their stores, and asked if they could credit that purchase against the $399. They said no, but they could sell me another microwave, and I could return the one I'd bought.

Then I went back to the form, and found out that it said $299, not $399, and called them back. They advised me that when I made the purchase online on Sept. 1, and when they sent me an e-mail that night confirming "Your appliance order has been submitted" it didn't actually mean that my purchase was made, only that they were thinking about it, and the actual purchase didn't happen until five days later, after the rebate had expired.

Were they apologetic? No. Would they recognize that this was their mistake, not mine? No. Would they admit that they had violated their own policy in not calling me within 48 hours to confirm the purchase (they waited five days, till the day after the rebate expired)? No.

They insisted that they had acted within their terms of service...and would change nothing.

To me, that's the essence of deceptive practices, if not outright consumer fraud, and pathetic customer service. Home Depot should be ashamed.
Would shop in this store again: NO

Over All:

On-Time Delivery:
Customer Service:
Avoid Home Depot
Review By: Boztc on Jul. 25, 2007

Summary: Don't buy appliances from Home Depot unless you can take them home and install them yourself.
Home Depot takes no responsibility for the delivery and installation of purchases. They contract out to a GE delivery service who then subcontracts to local businesses. You have no idea who is going to enter your home. They may have little or no knowledge of the product they are installing.
I was forced to return an LG dishwasher when the delivery man refused to install it because (he said) it wouldn't work in my kitchen. He gave me a lengthy explanation about how, "this happens all the time," because LGs require a special electrical set up. All BS. I checked with the manufacturer. He simply didn't want to put in the dishwasher. These guys get paid whether they take the stuff off the truck, or not.
I was forced to return to the store and select another, less desireable, brand only to discover on delivery that the first unit was entirely compatable with my kitchen set up.
When I notified the store manager, his response was, "Isn't that terrible? It happens all the time." Sound familiar? He said, "Home Depot is not responsible for the delivery, installation or warranty of products. Call the manufacturer...delivery service"
Be warned. Home Depot corporate (reluctantly) confirmed this policy is valid for both online and store purchases.
Would shop in this store again: NO

Over All:

On-Time Delivery:
Customer Service:
2time loser
Review By: hg1968 on Jul. 19, 2007

Summary: We were warned not to use Home Depot for our kitchen by an employee and we listened. Too bad we went there for our bathrooms. After waiting a month for delivery of our vanity and granite top we called to find the granite was cracked. It took another month to correct. I, being a glutten for punishment went back for our second bathroom renovation. Same story except this time the vanity was broken. No one ever called to tell us, they just didn't bother to deliver. When we called they could care less. Customer service at Paramus Expo told me to cancel if I didn't like it. Refused to put me on with a manager. Corporate C.C is no better. These people have delayed the finish of my renovations a second time in 3 months. They are the worst, besides the salesperson being clueless from the start. Never go to Expo.
Would shop in this store again: NO

Over All:

On-Time Delivery:
Customer Service:
Terrible service and costumer service
Review By: Bardy55 on Jun. 28, 2007

Summary: I bought a dishwasher from Home Depot and had terrible experience with their delivery, installation and costumer service. First they completely missed the order and didn’t deliver it on scheduled. In second attempt they couldn’t install the item and I had so many problems with them and I had to hire a private handyman to install it for me at extra charge. Then I tried more than 15 times to contact their costumer service but I couldn’t get any answer from them. They assigned the case to a person who’s not available, and nobody else would do anything for that case because it was already assigned and they were rude. I asked several people and did some search online, almost everybody had bad experience with Home Depot and I wish I would do it before purchasing from them.

Be aware of their service and be careful, it may look cheap from beginning but it’ll cost you a lot because of their miscommunication, mismanagement and poor costumer service.
Would shop in this store again: NO

Over All:

On-Time Delivery:
Customer Service:
they send damaged and defective merchandise (over and over)
Review By: ajo on Mar. 24, 2007

Summary: I ordered a wine cooler which came with a defect as well as damaged. Then i ordered another one- which came damaged too. i had to put out cash again as they don't do exchanges, even if they messed up. Now i have two huge boxes in my living room because it takes them two weeks to issue a return! And I am out twice the $! I got to talk to many agents (too many) , was hung up on, left on hold endlessly, and each agent said something different. Unbelievably poor quality & service. DON'T EVER BUY FROM THEM!!!
Would shop in this store again: NO

Over All:

On-Time Delivery:
Customer Service:
A BIG THANK YOU TO RICHIE FOR ALL OF HIS HELP
Review By: 6453757700 on Mar. 17, 2007

Summary: I think it's important to show appreciation to those who help us as I don't think they don't get enough credit..I came in to your store tonight and bought Fencing and Lumbar and was helped by Richie..This man was the most helpful person I have ever dealt with in sales..I don't know why you have him working nights as I think he would be most valuable to you during the day when more people are in your store...Im my opinion you have one valuable employee that obviously cares not only about what he does but about the costumers, he treated me like a "Gold Card Member" Kudos to Richie Rich, I hope you Home Depot knows what an asset he is to your company..
A very satisfied custumer!!
Would shop in this store again: YES

Over All:

On-Time Delivery:
Customer Service:
Brooklyn Home Depots suck
Review By: Julien on Feb. 25, 2007

Summary: Home Depot cannot cut lumber in Manhattan, so I called the Brooklyn stores to check if they would. After half an hour on the phone trying to reach somebody I decided to go to 500 Hamilton in Brooklyn. There cutting machine was broken, and they were not very nice. I asked customer service to call the one in Dekalb, and there machine was down too. Wasted three hours in this affair, would definitely not recommend Home Depot in Brooklyn. The Manhattan stores usually offer pleasant business though, too bad they do not provide cutting services.
Would shop in this store again: NO

Over All:

On-Time Delivery:
Customer Service:
on line at home depot
Review By: mom at christmas on Dec. 27, 2006

Summary: item wasn't shipped on the 12th the 1st time as I was notified it was.

2 calls and 4 people later it was "shipped on the 20th"

on the 27th "it has been returned and credited"! Nobody bothered to tell me the customer, we were still expecting my son's Christmas present. Upon checking it has not been credited back to my card.

another call on the 27th I was told that it has just been requested that morning and the credit may take 3-5 days to show up. I was repeatedly ask who issued the RMA, it wasn't me and they don't seem to have a system that tells them anything.

My goodness, no one seems to know what they are doing at the Home Depot on line sales. Poor attitude, no follow through, they certainly won't get my business again!!
Would shop in this store again: NO

Over All:

On-Time Delivery:
Customer Service:
Home Depot Needs Help
Review By: My name doesnt matter when the whole world agrees on Jul. 14, 2006

Summary: Not only have i shopped at home depot many times, But i have also worked there! I think it is horrible. The amount of customers that came up to me in a day and told me there wasn't anyone to help was insane. Being a cashier there was nothing i could do! There was never enough people on and what is with the self checkouts!!!! I think if there is going to be self checkouts we need a cashier on the floor to help costumers through them, they seem easy to us becuase we took a training class on how to use them.. but the customers might not know how. All in all i think that home depot needs to get ORGANIZED!
Would shop in this store again: NO

Over All:

On-Time Delivery:
Customer Service:
good values
Review By: once did on Jun. 22, 2006

Summary: good selection, good price and free shipping offer. no problem with the delivery.
Would shop in this store again: YES

Over All:

On-Time Delivery:
Customer Service:
Terrible Customer Service
Review By: Home Depot? on Jun. 10, 2006

Summary: I recently saw an advertisement for a patio set for 89.99 on XP bargains. I had the order confirmed and then got a note saying that it was inadvertnetly put on the site and they were cancelling the order. I complained and got no where. I then got a note saying that it was now discontinued. Home Depot has taken customer satisfaction to a whole new low level.
Would shop in this store again: NO

Over All:

On-Time Delivery:
Customer Service:
kitchen design department is awful
Review By: sunshine on Apr. 26, 2006

Summary: long island new york, kitchen design department is awful.
I found a coupon I'd like to share with you
go to google and type on home depot slick deals and you will find the link to 20% off
Would shop in this store again: NO

Over All:

On-Time Delivery:
Customer Service:
Awful Cheater Home Depot
Review By: sanj_001 at yahoo.com on Jan. 6, 2006

Summary: I have installed windows in my home @ 26752 Calaroga Ave, Hayward, CA, 94545 from Home Depot Fremont (Relo) 43900 Icehouse Terrace, Fremont CA 94538,(510)490-0191. I have spend $3200 on windows. After the installation when Hayward city did inspection on my property and told me that Bedroom windows are wrong. Window opening should be more that it was. They gave me a ticket to replace them. I spoke to Home depot manger about this. I told them the product they sell me is not per coded. He told me that he can't do anything it was not Home depot responsibility for the size while they charge me $ 50 for size. Their representative went to my property for sizes. My question is How stupid and unprofessional they are? How they can sell unsafe, not per coded product to the customer. My advise not to buy any product from them. make sure you check everything before you buy and have them write on a paper for you or they will cheat with you the way they did with me.
Would shop in this store again: NO

Over All:

On-Time Delivery:
Customer Service:
In one fell swoop Home Depot was able to lose me as a customer forever.
Review By: bmccormick25 on Nov. 22, 2005

Summary: In one fell swoop Home Depot was able to lose me as a customer forever. Since purchasing a new home in the San Francisco Bay Area last september my wife and I have been making weekly trips to the Home Depot in San Mateo, CA for supplies for the house. In August of this year we decided to upgrade to Andersen sliding doors and windows, hoping that they would improve the value of the house and help with heating / insulation. This was going to be a decent sized purchase for us, but probably very middle of the road for Home Depot.

The initial purchase experience was decent. The salesman was knowledgeable and helped us pick out the doors that we wanted. The next step was to put down a deposit and have a contractor stop by to measure and make sure the proper order was placed.

The contractor showed up on time and was very proffesional. The order was then placed and shipped to our house. It took about a month for delivery but wasn’t an issue since there were some non-standard sizes.

The day after the order arrived a team of contractors was scheduled to install the doors. Again they were proffesional, showed up on time, and were able to get the work done quickly. If the purchase experience had stopped here, Home Depot would have garnered high points. Everything was completed as expected and handled proffesionally. There was one small hitch though. One of the sliding doors had been damaged in shipping and wouldn’t slide on the rail. The contractor told me it was no big deal and that I would just have to call Home Depot and they would send another one out right away.

Call #1) So, the next day I called and talked to a Home Depot rep from special services and described the situation. They informed me that indeed this was not a problem and that they would take care of it immediately. The door would take about a week to arrive and they would call me when it did.

Call #2) After two weeks, things were busy and I had forgotten about the door, I call Home Depot back. The door was supposed to have been scheduled for delivery on Sept 10th, but the rep that took the call could not find any information about the door being delivered or even ordered. I ask if they have one in stock, to which they responsd that they would have to check. They tell me that if I wanted to come to the store and bring the old door in they would see if they had one to replace it. I try and explain to them that the door is 8′ long and I don’t have a vehicle that it’ll fit in. They tell me that they’ll have to call me back.

Call #3) Another call after I had determined that Home Depot was not going to call me back. The rep from special services is confused by the order and can’t figure out what’s happening. I’m transferred to someone else. He informs me that there was no order for a new screen door, but that he would need to talk to someone to fix it since he wasn’t sure how to place it. I’m put on hold for 40 minutes. Getting frustrated I pick up my cell phone and call in to Home Depot again and the person who put me on hold is no longer around, but the new rep takes the call. They assure me that they will get things sorted out and call me back.

Call #4) After another couple weeks pass I call in again to check to see what the status is. Again the rep that takes the call is unable to understand the order system and can’t determine if the door has been ordered or not. They assure me that they will figure it out and call me back.

Call #5) Tonight at 5:30pm I called again, this time determined to not hang up until someone is able to do something about the order. The first person to take the call again cannot determine what is happening. He admits to not being able to understand the order system. I tell him that I’m rather upset and would like to talk to someone that can help. I’m put on hold and after a few minutes connected with a Manager, Tony. I try and explain to Tony what has happened and that all I needed was to replace a screen door that was damaged in shipping.

Tony immediately takes a very confrontational tone and asks why I haven’t talked to any supervisors. I try and explain that I was not aware that I was required or had the option to speak with a supervisor. Tony tells me that he’ll have to call me back.

At this point I admit to getting rather upset and raising my voice at the prospect of being hung up on again. I tell him that if he can’t help me with this problem then I would like to investigate getting a refund for the price of the screen door. Tony informs me that he can’t determine the price right now and that again he’d have to call me back with that info and that further more his system has no record of there being an issue with the door or my having called so obviously there was nothing he could do. Tony claimed that as far as he was concerned the order was completed successfully, even though I was currently on the phone with him trying to explain that indeed it was not.

I try and explain that as a customer, the failure of the reps to log previous calls should not have been my problem. I have no visibility into Home Depot’s internal systems or methods. It’s become apparent that nothing has been entered into the system since the original order. Tony asks for the name of the reps that I had talked to previously and unfortunately I didn’t think to take them down at the time. I ask Tony why, since I was now talking with a manager, the problem could not be resolved. He refuses to discuss any more options with me but declares that he needs to talk to the original rep that took the order and he would call me back. Tony makes it very clear that he does not have any intention of replacing the door that had been damaged in shipping.

I’m concerned with the fact that I’m unable to get any action after 4 months from Home Depot. Home Depot employees consistently will not call back to follow up on orders. At this point in time I’m ready to write off the door. Continued discussions with Home Depot are not producing any results. It’s really sad since they had come so close to having a positive review, but really fell apart so completely and over such a small thing that I can’t recommend Home Depot for any services work. I personally will not be a Home Depot customer any longer.
Would shop in this store again: NO

Over All:

On-Time Delivery:
Customer Service:
home depot
Review By: dnc on Dec. 1, 2004

Summary: I ordered 600 cement pavers/30 bags of sand on november 10th. Delivery was for november 12th. Well they just got delivered today dec 1st..wow what efficiency! Good thing i didnt have a crew waiting to put these in. Not once did they call me until Nov 30th. When I called today(dec1) to setup a time they told me sometime in the morning or afternoon..even the phone company does better than that!
Would shop in this store again: NO

Over All:

On-Time Delivery:
Customer Service:
Customer
Review By: Jackie on Jun. 21, 2004

Summary:
Would shop in this store again: YES


Home Depot ratings brought to you by xPricer.com.


Close To help other users like you Please describe why it doesn't work, such as wrong price, coupon not working, inaccurate description, etc.
No HTML please.
Name: (optional)

Laptop Deals  Desktop Deals  Cell Phone Deals  Digital Camera Deals  Google Phone Info  Black Friday
Dell Coupon  Best-Card.com  xpgadgets.com  XP Blogs  Facebook  Twitter  Mobile Deal News
Find best online deals & coupons on computer hardware & software, consumer electronics and more!

Add to My Yahoo! Add to Google Reader or Homepage Subscribe in NewsGator Online Add to netvibes Subscribe in Bloglines Add to My AOL

Subscribe to daily deals

Term of Use  Copyright ©2001-2009 xpBargains.com.