xpBargains Home | Dell Coupons | HP Coupons | Laptop Deals |
Overstock Store Ratings & Reviews
Free Newsletter & Deal Alert

Overstock

Average Overall Rating:

Average On-Time Delivery Rating:

Average Customer Service Rating:

Description: Save 40-70% off TOP NAME BRANDS like Fuji, Krups, Olympus, Titleist, Movado, IBM, and more! As a top 50 online merchant. Overstock.com sells movies, electronics, housewares, bedding, sporting gear...all at CLOSE-OUT prices!

Go to store: Overstock

More Information
View Store Deals
Read User Reviews (28)
Write Reviews


Overstock Store Ratings & Reviews:


Over All:

On-Time Delivery:
Customer Service:
Scam Artist in the USA
Review By: holli_73 on Apr. 2, 2011

Summary: BEWARE of the "not returnable" info beside your item in your order or the HAIR SCAM where they will refuse to refund all of the price paid because they found a hair on the item and say it is used
I recently bought 400 worth of jackets/scarves from overstock when they had a sale. I bought more things than I wanted because the return policy said all I had to do was use their label or mine after getting a RMA. I got the items--tried them on (of course) picked my colors and put the rest back in the box for return. I went online to get the RMA and found 90% of what I ordered said not returnable. I checked the item descriptions and found nothing stating not returnable and they were not clearance items (I read everything before buying) so I called and they said no problem and gave an RMA for what I wanted to return but asked me over 20 times why I didn't want the items. I returned the items on my own because I know they charge too much with their label and about 2 weeks later I got the email with the return info. I found that they deducted 50% HALF of what I paid with the reason stating they found a hair on the jackets. I returned the items the same day I received them so they were not worn and me just trying to get money back-One jacket never came out of the plastic wrapper that was sealed! So after contacting customer service and getting no where I filed with the BBB and received a refund-GOOGLED overstock and website after website with scam info came up-I believe any positive reviews are either done by them or for someone who was extremely lucky-it used to be a great place to shop and now it is something that I will never ever do again or reccommend
Would shop in this store again: NO

Over All:

On-Time Delivery:
Customer Service:
Poor Customer Service; declining quality; prices not competitive
Review By: BuyerElsie on Feb. 14, 2011

Summary: The prereview of this review says the purchase was in 1969 -- it was in December, 2010. In reading reviews of Overstock, I have found the people who rated it high had had little experience with the company. I have been a customer of Overstock.com for about ten years. Originally struck by the high quality of the merchandise and the good prices, I shopped there often. More recently, though, their prices are no longer truly low and the quality is definitely waning. In fact. a couple of years ago, I purchased an occasional chair from Overstock and saw the same product a few weeks later at a major department (not discount) store in downtown Chicago for less! It is simple to find equivalent or identical merchandise in local shops for less. HOWEVER THE REASON THAT I WILL NO LONGER SHOP THERE IS:

My sister, who lives in another state, purchased a book for my husband's birthday. It arrived in Spanish (he does not speak Spanish). I told my sister that I would take care of returning the book since she cannot do it from work. Also, she is going through a lot of family problems (husband with long-term illness and daughter in the hospital) and I am trying to keep her from any additional stress. I called Overstock to arrange for the return and was told that they could not issue a credit to my sister's credit card unless she called herself. I explained the extenuating circumstances, but was denied. Frequently line employees cannot make exceptions so I asked to speak to a supervisor. The supervisor told me the same thing. A reputable merchant works with its customers; Overstock doesn't.
Would shop in this store again: NO

Over All:

On-Time Delivery:
Customer Service:
Overstock sells faulty products
Review By: Rev_Hedo on Feb. 3, 2011

Summary: I made 3 purchases from Overstock--- and was happy with all------
until buying experience #4.

Bought a Calloway uPro GPS unit--- that was refurbished.
Only problem was--- it was NOT operational!

Oh-- it turned on and you got a screen....... but would not work accoding to the instructions on connecting to the Internet and registering product.
I called Calloway-- and was eventually connected to technical support-- after much testing-- they were able to identify problem as software issue-- that required reformat- then reloading of software.

Time taken to identify problem, and get it fixed--- almost 3 hours!

Turns out I bought a refurbished product--- that was never repaired and shipped out in an unusable condition.

Then when I wrote a Product review for Overstock noting my experience-- they refused to list it.
They say they publish both positive and negative reviews--- but they lie! They chose only the positive ones.

If they would have shown my review-- I would have said: okay-- they screwed up one time...... I'll still buy from them because maybe it wasn't their mistake. However, after the customer service bullshit they gave me in Live Chat and follow-up emails--------
I've decided I will not do business with them again.
Would shop in this store again: NO

Over All:

On-Time Delivery:
Customer Service:
They scam customers! Stay away!
Review By: rk0010 on Jan. 17, 2011

Summary: Purchased items on sale and returned some of them for which I was charged a 30+ dollars fee to return. When issued a refund weeks later I noticed the discount price (20%) was not refunded. So I instead ended up losing close to $100 for placing this order. I will no longer shop from them and am very disappointed.
Would shop in this store again: NO

Over All:

On-Time Delivery:
Customer Service:
Delivery Not As Expected
Review By: Kathy A on Dec. 26, 2010

Summary: Just as a warning for people who might use this company - be sure to check all info on delivery times.
After seeing a banner which said that Overstock would deliver by the 24th if orders were placed on the 20th, I ordered some items for Christmas on the 20th.
Of the 3 items, only one arrived on the 24th. Upon contacting customer service, I was told that only some items qualified. I was also told that items were marked with a symbol if they qualified. I have re-checked my order and there are no symbols by the item that did show up and supposedly qualified. There is also no notation on the email receipt.
Now 3 children don't have their Christmas items and I'm still waiting. All customer service could do is say"sorry". They weren't particularly receptive to feedback that the "selected items" info wasn't clear.
Will probably shop with them again, as they have good items, however I won't do it if there is a deadline for delivery involved.
Would shop in this store again: YES

Over All:

On-Time Delivery:
Customer Service:
Overstock.com Lies and Sucks
Review By: sbaker762 on Nov. 10, 2010

Summary: The product may however be nice but overstock.com has terrible customer service and doesn't fill their orders. You may think you are getting what you are looking for but it is really just a gamble at best. I purchase my wife this watch, thinking I would receive this in a timely manor considering the reviews. This however never happened Overstock took my money for several days, promised to ship the product, it never happened and they canceled the order. Now I am out several days without this money and no gift for my wife. Total BS don't ever use this company EVER, they lie to you about their product just FYI..
Would shop in this store again: NO

Over All:

On-Time Delivery:
Customer Service:
Orders cannot be cancelled
Review By: chavez on Mar. 6, 2010

Summary: I purchased an allegedly unlocked GSM cell phone on Overstock.com but three hours later I changed my mind and wanted to order a more capable device with MP3 and camera. I wanted to cancel my order but Overstock.com does not allow customers to cancel their orders. They do not state this anywhere. From the status of my order, it seems that I will not be able to return this product either. I used an online chat at they refused to help me -- sorry for the inconvenience. Supposedly the order is being processed in a warehouse -- right at 7 pm pacific time on Saturday. Who can believe such a story? Please think twice even before typing this address in your web browser. This is an online trap, not an online store. For me this would be the first and the last purchase on this site. Whenever possible I always try to use Amazon. I know that I can cancel an order w/o any issues. Anyway, I am surprised that this company is still in business - their "no cancellation" policy is the same since 2006 according to previous comments.
Would shop in this store again: NO

Over All:

On-Time Delivery:
Customer Service:
BEWARE OF THESE THIEVES!!!!!
Review By: aishbaby29 on Jan. 22, 2010

Summary: I will NEVER shop at overstock again!! BEWARE OF THESE PEOPLE!!! THEY ARE THIEVES!!! I purchased a diamond ring from overstock and returned it but they lost it/someone stole it in the warehouse so I never got my money back. I called in SEVERAL times and they refuse to refund my money. THEY WILL SCREW YOU OVER! STAY AWAY!!!!
Would shop in this store again: NO

Over All:

On-Time Delivery:
Customer Service:
one big drop ship site
Review By: 2983 on Nov. 19, 2009

Summary: overstock is one big drop ship site - you are better off calling the manufacturer and just asking them to meet the prices - this website is horrible
Would shop in this store again: NO

Over All:

On-Time Delivery:
Customer Service:
Overstock.com.... Beware returns
Review By: oneandonlyme on Jul. 19, 2009

Summary: I had real trouble returning an incorrect item sent to me. It took MANY attempts to get them to send me a return label even though it was their fault. Their customer service department was not knowledgeable or helpful and they have no way to complain about anything!
Would shop in this store again: NO

Over All:

On-Time Delivery:
Customer Service:
Overstock is a Fraud, Do your research
Review By: David on Jul. 6, 2009

Summary: Unfortunately I bought into the hype that Overstock had the cheapest prices around and commenced to outfit an entire house with their items. After spending an untold amount of money I have found most of their items cheaper at other stores and some items that were the same price but of a much better quality. It will take some searching on the internet but their prices can definitely be beat and usually with a better product. If you are in a large city you should shop around before jumping in, even some of the items on Craigslist were better and cheaper. I wouldn't recommend this company to anyone.
Would shop in this store again: NO

Over All:

On-Time Delivery:
Customer Service:
Angry
Review By: esal on May. 18, 2009

Summary: I have bought items from this website several times and had no problem. However, I recently bought a pet bed and it was too small so I attempted to send it back. They did not include a return label with my item and I was forced to do it online where it quoted me $30 to send it back. I only paid $25. Upon calling customer service they said the they estimated the weight to be 45 lbs, this was very incorrect. I would buy from this site ONLY if you know what you are buying is what you want and are not going to send it back. I will not by buying from overstock.com again.
Would shop in this store again: NO

Over All:

On-Time Delivery:
Customer Service:
Overstock screw up
Review By: Moondog on Jan. 22, 2009

Summary: They sent me the wrong item that I ordered and the item they sent was not even close to what I did order. Then for the return they only use UPS which dosen't have a facility near me so the return will come from my pocket. This site is a scam and a horrible business model.
Would shop in this store again: NO

Over All:

On-Time Delivery:
Customer Service:
I LOVE overstock
Review By: Tadahh on Sep. 19, 2008

Summary: My friend bought a couch on overstock, it arrived fine. I bought a table on overstock, it arrived in PERFECT condition. I just bought two shelving units from overstock, and i'm not worried at all.
Would shop in this store again: YES

Over All:

On-Time Delivery:
Customer Service:
Purchased furniture and never got the legs or cushions
Review By: Karen on Jun. 26, 2008

Summary: I would not recommend anyone purchase anything from this site. I have never written an online review, but hope this message may spare someone else of the frustration I've endured during the last 30 days.

I ordered furniture online; maybe Overstock could have handled it if it was something smaller, like a pen. I received my sofa/loveseat order without the four legs for the loveseat, the bolts to secure the back to the bottom, and missing one of the sofa pillows. I have been online e-mailing, doing live chats and calling ever since to try to get my missing parts, and today, 12 days after my initial complaint, I requested return forms. So I still have to pack up all of the furniture in original boxes and work out a pick-up date with UPS.

This, however, isn't the only problem I had with Overstock. I requested a specific piece of furniture in a Live Chat, and they told me it was out of stock, only to see the next day that it was posted as available. Their shipper is UPS, and they left my furniture outside of my apartment complex door when I wasn't home. I live on the third floor. It's not easy for a not-particularly-fit woman to haul a sofa and loveseat upstairs by herself. And why would UPS leave a furniture shipment outside on a rainy day?

One of the biggest frustrations, however, was that Overstock's left and right hands aren't talking to each other. I'd get an e-mail from them giving me an "update" on my complaint, which was always that they'd get back to me in two business days, and that I could call in response. So I called and talked with someone, who apologized politely. I'd wait the two days and then get an e-mail saying that they were happy to see that my complaint was closed at my request. I never closed my complaint. I received e-mails from three different e-mail addresses: info@overstock, vcs@overstock, and their "customer care" center. Their phone, live chat and e-mail systems are all separate, so if you do order from them, make sure you just stick with one complaint channel.

In all, I'm extremely disappointed because I really did want the sofa, and now it's 30 days after I ordered the set, and I've been waiting for a response for 12 days with furniture I can't assemble and huge boxes in my living room. I will NEVER order from them again, even if it is a smaller item they might be able to handle, like a pen.
Would shop in this store again: NO

Over All:

On-Time Delivery:
Customer Service:
is a scam for real
Review By: marissa1980 on Oct. 20, 2007

Summary: http://www.overstock.com/Sports-Toys/Programmerz-Programmable-Remote-Control-Stunt-Car/2093484/product.html

http://www.abcdistributing.com/home/catalog/cat_item_pg.asp?G=465&P=416&Rec=27&Ntt=ca&N=35&Nao=0&R=8827

how one store online have a product for 9.99 and overstock for 27? and they have the product on sale!! is regular 39$ i dont get it
Would shop in this store again: NO

Over All:

On-Time Delivery:
Customer Service:
OVERSTOCK Commits FRAUD, FALSE ADVERTISING
Review By: rippedoff on May. 18, 2007

Summary: I recently purchased a DVD/VCR combo on Overstock.com because the product description claimed it could transfer VHS home movies to DVDs. When I received the item and read the instructions, it clearly could not perform that function. When I contacted Overstock, they told me that they were COMPLETELY AWARE that this machine did not perform that function, but would take no further responsibility other than letting me return it at no extra charge.

False advertising, including making inaccurate product claims is illegal and combining it with making no effort to remedy the situation is UNETHICAL and insulting. As someone who works as a Marketer in the retail industry, I am shocked and saddened by their blatant illegal activities and remorseless attitude. As of now, they still haven't even changed the product description on their website and are continuing to sell the item under false pretenses!

Do not let them trick you into buying their misrepresented merchandise.
Would shop in this store again: NO

Over All:

On-Time Delivery:
Customer Service:
shopper
Review By: landonstaley on Apr. 6, 2007

Summary: I tried to return something it was so awful ,They took my money and after i got the post office receipt for the tech item they would not accept it be afraid very afraid
Would shop in this store again: NO

Over All:

On-Time Delivery:
Customer Service:
Shockingly bad. This can't be legal...
Review By: CTSJT on Jan. 18, 2007

Summary: You apparently cannot cancel an order within any amount of time, let alone an hour, even though no one directly says this to you. You will likely be assured that your order is being cancelled. It is not. Don't believe it. They will lie to you. I have never had an experience like this before. I ordered a gift basket and flowers for a sick friend. I intended to select expedited shipping, but mistakenly selected standard shipping. I tried to change the shipping. They couldn't and recommended that I cancel the order and place it again. I said, "great, let's do that". No problem, you will get an email stating that the order is cancelled. Great! No email. Call back after about 2 hrs. New rep. "Sorry, we've already sent your order to the warehouse, but I will send a note to them to cancel". To make it short, my item was not cancelled despite repeated assurances. I had already ordered new items to replace the first ones I thought were cancelled! I feel like they stole my money and I cannot believe that this is legal.
Would shop in this store again: NO

Over All:

On-Time Delivery:
Customer Service:
Terrible return and order canceling policy
Review By: mak52 on May. 12, 2006

Summary: Overstock has a terrible return policy. All returns are at purchaser's expense, which is fine if it is my fault for ordering the wrong thing. Then there is an additional charge for "restocking". So it is easy to spend a significant part of what one hopes to get back on returning the item.

Even worse is their policy on canceling orders. They don't. My order status is listed on their site as "In-Process" for several days. When I used their on-line chat service to find out what was going on I was told that I would definitely know the shipping information the next day. Two days later I checked again and it was still listed as "In-Process". This time the chat service said that they would really try hard to let me know within 2-4 business days as to what the shipping status was but hey they have 2-14 business days to deliver the stuff so I should just wait before complaining. When I said I wanted to cancel the order I was told it was impossible. Because the ship so "fast" they just can't cancel an order. So you can't cancel and it's expensive to return. There are too many other options out there with better policies.
Would shop in this store again: NO

Over All:

On-Time Delivery:
Customer Service:
Overstock.com lies and cheats
Review By: OverstockHater on Dec. 2, 2005

Summary: I recently bought a jacket in size medium at Overstock.com along with some other clothing. When the jacket arrived, I noticed that the bag covering it said that it was size medium, but the tag on the jacket itself said that it was size small.

I immediately contacted Overstock.com via live chat and was told that they would issue a return tag and order me another jacket in size medium. You see, the stock at Overstock.com is transient. When something is gone, it's gone. They said they had more of these jackets in medium the day of the live chat and I was relieved that I would be able to get what I ordered in the first place. They assured me that it was ordered, because they had my credit card number, etc.

Two weeks went by, and nothing.

Finally I called them. I was informed that they didn't have anymore of the jackets in medium. They said that they would send me out another return tag, but there was nothing they could do about the jacket.

I am totally PO'd because I really liked that jacket. Actually, I loved it. I had been searching high and low for a jacket just like that and had been delighted to find it online. It was perfect for my needs except that it was too small -- which was THEIR fault, bagging it improperly and sending me the wrong size. I told them that I refuse to pay the restocking fee on that item. They told me that they would make sure that this didn’t happen.

Finally I got the tag and sent the jacket back and eventually there was a credit on my card – which had a re-stocking fee deducted from it! I have called my credit card company and am disputing the entire charge. Overstock.com “customer service” reps are a bunch of liars.

When I wrote and asked them how they planned to compensate me for my extreme disappointment in their horrible customer service, they sent me a generic response, basically just a pat on the head -- run along now, little customer, we can't be bothered. It was obviously a form email.

What's my opinion of Overstock.com? Two words: they stink. Their customer service is the worst I’ve ever experienced online. I think all they care about is moving the merchandise off their shelves. I will never EVER buy from them again. As far as I’m concerned, the “big O” stands for “Over-hyped.” I hope one day they become the “big B” -- Bankrupt.
Would shop in this store again: NO

Over All:

On-Time Delivery:
Customer Service:
Overstock sells products they don't have
Review By: MG on Nov. 19, 2005

Summary: Overstock sold me a bedroom set they didn't have and charged my credit card and canceled my order. I saw that the bedroom set was still for sale on their site. They told me it was an error and told me they had already credited my account. They told me to order the set again. I ordered it and they again charged my credit card and canceled my order. I have not received my credit yet. They gave me a $20.00 inconvenience credit, which I used on the second order that they canceled and then wouldn't give me the credit back. I will never do business with them again. They sell products they don't have.
Would shop in this store again: NO

Over All:

On-Time Delivery:
Customer Service:
Agree with bronson review
Review By: kermee on Nov. 8, 2005

Summary: I won't repeat Bronson's blithing review, but I have to say I have the identical complaint to a T. Spoke with CS x4, they kept giving me weak excuses for the delay in shipping.
Would shop in this store again: NO

Over All:

On-Time Delivery:
Customer Service:
Overstock is a fraud. They charge the card but fail to ship the product.
Review By: bronson on Sep. 24, 2005

Summary: They charged my card but didn't ship anything! HORRIBLE.

Overstock.com is a joke and, until further notice, a fraud.

I ordered from them:

1. They immediately (of course) charged my credit card

2. They failed to ship the order

3. They claim that they're upgrading their system over the next few days and that they cannot track some orders. They've had this lame excuse for weeks now.

4. I sent them an email about this over 2 weeks after the purchase (they say contact them after 14 biz days) and they haven't bothered to respond.

5. I finally called their 800-843-2446 number and they blithely admitted that they had charged the card 3 weeks ago but never shipped anything, cannot find the shipment, do not have the product in stock and cannot do anything about even the charged card for 2-4 business days which is almost a week from the phone call!

6. I finally talked to a supervisor who is, basically, at a loss to do anything or find out any additional information or even follow up on anything. She said they are located in SLC, Utah and their president is Patrick O'Neal. This is not personal information but their public corporate information which includes a toll 801-947-3100.

She did not know who her boss's boss was or what the chain of command of customer service was. She was useless, snippy and rude.

7. Is Overstock a fraud? Is this just a slick scam?

This is unbelievable. They can't even give me a credit on the card but have, instead, decided to take an interest-free loan from me.

This is outrageous. It's unbelievable. Doesn't anyone at Overstock.com do any work?
Would shop in this store again: NO

Over All:

On-Time Delivery:
Customer Service:
Overstock.com is the best!
Review By: sam_sherrill on May. 8, 2004

Summary: I have purchased from Overstock.com several times and have been very satisfied each time. Most of their electronics are refurbished, but I have never had a problem with anything. They will ship ANYTHING for only $2.95, including large furniture. I have recommended them to everyone I know.
Would shop in this store again: YES

Over All:

On-Time Delivery:
Customer Service:
bargain prices
Review By: dallsnow on Jan. 6, 2004

Summary: can't really say about the CS since I never calle them. product arrived in time. great pricing.
Would shop in this store again: YES

Over All:

On-Time Delivery:
Customer Service:
satisfied
Review By: 77trigger on Dec. 30, 2003

Summary: received the Palm PDA as described. low shipping fee and great price!
Would shop in this store again: YES

Over All:

On-Time Delivery:
Customer Service:
A Waste of Online Space....
Review By: Oopstoo on Dec. 30, 2003

Summary: This store won't allow any negative consumer product complaints to be posted. Everything they sell is perfectly wonderful. However, I purchased a perfectly wonderful product, wrote a review, twice, and it was never posted. I guess it was because they don't want everyone to know their product wasn't so wonderful. And about Customer Service, if you have a negative comment or concern, don't bother calling... CS is about as useful as bubble gum stuck to the bottom of your shoe!
Would shop in this store again: NO


Overstock ratings brought to you by xPricer.com.


Close To help other users like you Please describe why it doesn't work, such as wrong price, coupon not working, inaccurate description, etc.
No HTML please.
Name: (optional)

Laptop Deals  Desktop Deals  Cell Phone Deals  Digital Camera Deals  Google Phone Info  Black Friday
Dell Coupon  Best-Card.com  xpgadgets.com  XP Blogs  Facebook  Twitter  Mobile Deal News
Find best online deals & coupons on computer hardware & software, consumer electronics and more!

Add to My Yahoo! Add to Google Reader or Homepage Subscribe in NewsGator Online Add to netvibes Subscribe in Bloglines Add to My AOL

Subscribe to daily deals

Term of Use  Copyright ©2001-2009 xpBargains.com.