xpBargains Home | Dell Coupons | HP Coupons | Laptop Deals |
Staples Store Ratings & Reviews
Free Newsletter & Deal Alert

Staples

Average Overall Rating:

Average On-Time Delivery Rating:

Average Customer Service Rating:

Description: Office superstore. Computer systems & peripherals, digital cameras, office machines & supplies. Free shipping on $50.

Go to store: Staples

More Information
View Store Deals
Read User Reviews (21)
Write Reviews


Staples Store Ratings & Reviews:


Over All:

On-Time Delivery:
Customer Service:
Customer
Review By: bdstrafford at metrocast.net on Mar. 28, 2013

Summary: Rochester, NH store,offered free computer check-up.
Took a week of promises to have ready.
Returned back 4 times, it was never worked on.
Final cost to fix, $300.
After using computer one week, it was no better than before.
Purchased a Norton program, to keeep running properly.
All I now get is tons of Norton advertisements in my e-mail.
I made 2 complaints to staples, after complaining at store.
I never heard from my e-mail complaints, despite their saying they would respond promptly.

I refused to go back to the Rochester store.
Today I went to their Somersworth store, to use my "REWARDS"

I handed the clerk my rewards slip.
After ringing up my order, she returned the slip to me.
After arriving home, I realized she never gave me the credit for the rewards I had earned.

I give up on Staples.
Would shop in this store again: NO

Over All:

On-Time Delivery:
Customer Service:
Copy and print job
Review By: KK on Jan. 26, 2013

Summary: Copy and Print center was horrible and then the manager acted as if it was my fault they couldn't do their job! It wasn't an easy job but they tried to figure out a way to do it. No problem, except they were going to charge me 5.99 per page to scan! AND only 10 cents to copy??? I will take copies then. I left specific instructions, my phone #, etc. They called and said it wouldn't be done in 3 days like initially told. I gave a 3-day extention. Then, if I hadn't called the day before pick up and raised a little heck, it wouldn't have been done then either!! When I did pick it up, the job wasn't completely done, I waited at least another 2 hours. They had to scan the copies they made because they changed it from legal to legder, which I cannot scan. When I got home, the scan was not saved in order so I could stack. AND some of the copies did not have all the necessary information on them (cut off). Someone else apparently thought they would help because those copies have NO useful information on them. When I finally got done going through the entire scan, there were 30 pages not on the scan file??!! Last, but not least...since the copies had been made I returned the originals back to the owner 2 hours away and NOW I have to go retrieve them again, make the copies myself and delay his payment because this was so incompetent!
Would shop in this store again: NO

Over All:

On-Time Delivery:
Customer Service:
Owner of small business
Review By: SandyCPlanB on Jul. 22, 2011

Summary: I purchased two HP Photosmart Premium Fax All-In-One Printers each with 2 year warranty. When the one printer failed after one month of use, Staples would not honor warranty as Warranty is from HP. The two year warranty includes the HP warranty---very deceptive so you really only have a one year warranty.

Since I was having so many problems with the one printer after only one month of use, I wanted to return the second printer; however, I was one day over the 30 day return period and Staples would not take it back or exchange it even though the box had not been opened.

Staples would not exchange the defective printer and I had to take time away from my business and spend about four hours total with HP Customer Service to get a resolve. The first tech could only help me with a couple of suggestions before transferring me to a Mac tech support person. Unfortunately, in the transfer, we got disconnected. After 1/2 hr., I called them back. The second tech spent an hour with me going through how to clean the print head only to have it fail after reinstalling. She wanted to send me a new print head, but I refused because there were other problems with the document feeder, incomplete faxing, and paper tray defaults.
I asked to speak with her supervisor. After another half hour, the supervisor said that I would be assigned to a case manager. The next day, I had not heard from anyone by noon so I called Customer Service to get another manager who said the case manager would be calling. I gave him my office number and my cell phone number.
As I had to step away from my desk for an hour, and had not heard from anyone, I checked my email to see a message that they had called and left a message on my office phone. Called them once again. The case manager once again only wanted to send me a print head; however, I persisted in asking for a replacement of the machine.

HP wanted to replace the print head even though I was having difficulties with the document feeder, faxing all pages, printer tray. When I finally got them to consent to replacing the machine, they said I had to take the trays, cables, etc., print head and put them in the reburbished one that they were sending to me. I had to remind them again that the print head was defective and they then consented to send me a replacement for that.

I will be without a printer for five (5) business days which is very disconcerting.

The warranty is very misleading. The machine is not replaced with a new one, but a refurbished one!

As a small business owner, it has cost me more in my time, IT man's time and their time to deal with this issue than what the machine was worth. Will never buy anything from Staples because of their poor customer service and misleading warranties, nor ever purchase an HP product again.
Would shop in this store again: NO

Over All:

On-Time Delivery:
Customer Service:
Horrible Customer Service
Review By: mkcc on Apr. 7, 2011

Summary: Staples store# 0171 in Woodside NY is my neighborhood store. I shop here a lot without never needing help from an associate. However, recently I need help on 2 separate occasions: 1. at the copy center and 2. with ink recycle. Twice with different associates, waiting time on both occasions were at least 25-30 minutes. Employees at this location, see you standing there waiting for over 20 minutes and just ignore you and carry on what ever they were doing at a very slow paste. It's as if Staples train their employees at this location - "if there is a customer waiting to be assisted and the employee is busy, let the customer continue to wait because there are other employees that will get to the customer, if not the customer can come back when we are not that busy." There's no eye contact made the whole time I was there. No one to politely advise you that someone will be available as soon as possible. Horrible! Will not shop at Staples ever. Be sides there is a Best Buy down the block.
Would shop in this store again: NO

Over All:

On-Time Delivery:
Customer Service:
Absoultely poor service. No technical skills and unwilling to help
Review By: rockon on Mar. 18, 2011

Summary: I went to the local staples store at 8059 W. Preece Drive
Boise, ID 83704 to look at monitors. First off, they were all running 1280x700 on the displays so they all look blurry. When I asked 'Sparkey' (no kidding, it's what his name tag read) if they could run them in native mode, he said he couldn't do that. Red warnings should have been going off then. So I asked if I could bring my laptop in and test monitors using that. They said OK. So I come back with my laptop, and they don't even have a spare VGA cable. I asked if I could use one that was unconnected there lying on the counter, and he said no. I just picked the least expensive one I could find. I wound up paying more for it at the store than I would have at NewEgg. If I didn't need a monitor that day, I would have just ordered it from NewEgg and paid $10 less for the same monitor. AWFUL service, and pathetic attitude. They acted like I was bothering them to buy the monitor, and forget it if you want to compare them. They really don't want to sell you anything.
Would shop in this store again: NO

Over All:

On-Time Delivery:
Customer Service:
Received a used item in place of a new item
Review By: mzhu on Dec. 6, 2010

Summary: I ordered a Seagate Free Agent Go Ultra Portable Drive from Staples Online and received a repackaged used one. When I called Staples customer service to exchange for a new hard drive, not once do I receive a apology and I even have to go out my way to return the old hard drive in order to receive another one. Beware of receiving used items instead of new items. They repackaged it like new and if they had wiped the drive clean, I would have never have known otherwise.
Would shop in this store again: NO

Over All:

On-Time Delivery:
Customer Service:
DONT PLAY THAT CARD
Review By: PAPER JAM on Jul. 16, 2010

Summary: 7/2010. 7PM STAPLES ROCHESTER NY. WAITED 1ST IN LINE 14MINUTES. FOR 4 COLOR PAPER FOR THE COLOR COPIER. I GUESS THE ASSOCIATE WAS BUSY DOING LAMINATIONS I JUST WATCHED PATIENTLY. FINALLY GOT SERVICE AFTER A TALL GENTLMEN GOT IN LINE BEHIND ME. SHE DID'NT WANT HIM TO WAIT 60SECONDS. WENT TO COLOR COPIER. AFTER SEVERAL ATTEMPTS I NEEDED HELP. DREADED TO ASK HER ANYTHING ELSE (I READ PEOPLE VERY WELL) SHE CAME OVER AND GAVE A BRIEF RAPID RESPONSE INSERVICE. HOPING THINGS WOULD WORK IT DID'NT. WENT TO CASHIER AT CHECK OUT ASKING FOR HELP SHE LOOKS AT ME DUMBFOUNDED. SO I GO BACK TO THE COLOR COPIER TO PROBLEM SOLVE THIS ISSUE MY SELF I THOUGHT MAYBE ITS ME. SURE ENOUGH IT SAYS PAPER JAM IN SMALL PRINT TRAY # 5. I GO TO THE CASHIER ASKING AGAIN FOR HELP (NOW THE ASSOCIATE AT THE COPIER COUNTER IS LOOKING FOR WANDERING CUSTOMERS IN THE STORE WHO MAY NEED ASSISTANCE. SHOULD BE USING THE MACHINE) FED UP AND FEELING DISCRIMINATED. THEN CASHIER YELLS DONT PLAAAAAAAY THAT CARD !
Would shop in this store again: NO

Over All:

On-Time Delivery:
Customer Service:
Take a picture of what you see advertised
Review By: Joe on Jun. 20, 2010

Summary: They will advertise things and then claim that it is not there!!!!
Would shop in this store again: NO

Over All:

On-Time Delivery:
Customer Service:
Worse customer service and advertisement
Review By: net on Jun. 20, 2010

Summary: Bought an item online advertised at 124.99 got it and it says that it is box 1.

called for box 2, and got charge another $130 for it...
They say that it was a mistake and that if I want they can come to pick the desk (which i spent one full day to build) and i can return it to them!!!!
Worse customer service ever!
Would shop in this store again: NO

Over All:

On-Time Delivery:
Customer Service:
honoring their ad
Review By: marty on Feb. 15, 2010

Summary: I will not be shopping at staples again! I went in for two specific items that were in their ad,the first frustration is that they did'nt help me locate the product, the second is that when I did find the exact same items (quantity, picture, everything) they said the "skew" numbers did'nt match and even though the products were identical to their ad they would'nt honor it. This is'nt an isolated incident, this is the norm for their customer service, and I can no longer aford to waste my time with a company that does buisness like that.
Would shop in this store again: NO

Over All:

On-Time Delivery:
Customer Service:
Great Store
Review By: Paul on Dec. 13, 2009

Summary: I have been shopping at Staples for at least 10 years and have not had a single problem. I have bought 3 computers and I just ordered 3 more laptops from them because they always seem to have the best deals on computers. I have also bought ink jets and a laser printer from them with no problem. Recently I told them I saw a Kodak camera for less money they immediately matched the price. The reps always seem to be very helpful and so I am just wondering where those of you who gave them a bad reveive are shopping.
Would shop in this store again: YES

Over All:

On-Time Delivery:
Customer Service:
Shop at a store that cares about your business
Review By: Staple-puller on Apr. 5, 2009

Summary: Staples employees have a terrible attitude and their managers are ignorant about customer relations. They do not stand behind their products and they will get no more business from me. My accounting dept and buyers will be instructed to stop giving them my business. Recommend you do the same.
Would shop in this store again: NO

Over All:

On-Time Delivery:
Customer Service:
staples hates customers?!
Review By: landi on Oct. 12, 2008

Summary: to the gentleman who said that he received junk mail offering him a certain item for a reasonable price on a weekly sale (or whatever it may be), just because you get emails on staples products that are on sale doesnt mean you are going to get them. yea, you obviously know that now dont you? but carrying a product & having it in-stock are 2 different things... i can already imagine the type of customer you are by reading what you have written. i am a staples employee in new york & beleive me we are all normal people. you would probably get pissed off if you had yourself as a customer asking b/s questions & making even worse commentary on stuff that you dont even know half about.
Would shop in this store again: YES

Over All:

On-Time Delivery:
Customer Service:
staples is ok by me..don't believe all the negs..mostly only disgruntled people post anyway
Review By: maxman on Sep. 26, 2008

Summary: staples has been great for me over many years
Would shop in this store again: YES

Over All:

On-Time Delivery:
Customer Service:
very bad customer service with a scam returne policy
Review By: m.ahmed Aug 2008 on Aug. 21, 2008

Summary: very bad and rude, with their (non customer service), they don't know anything in their own stores, in top of this is their return policy it is the biggest scam. never shop there again.
Would shop in this store again: NO

Over All:

On-Time Delivery:
Customer Service:
Horrible
Review By: alaina on Jul. 2, 2008

Summary: I bought a laptop, warranty and all the accessories from this store. I was having problem w/ my laptop so I called tech support..he was very rude to me, didn't help me anything.
Would shop in this store again: NO

Over All:

On-Time Delivery:
Customer Service:
Staples is the worst thing!!!!
Review By: mareolulo on Feb. 6, 2006

Summary: I have placed my order three times and still It does not show up!!!!! I have been trying two days . I give up. I do not even if my credit card is oging to be charged. I also wrote to customer service and they still do not write me or respond me.!!

Very BAD
Would shop in this store again: NO

Over All:

On-Time Delivery:
Customer Service:
Router
Review By: loverbeck on May. 21, 2005

Summary: Got my router right away and for a great price that I have not seen in the last 6 months. Also Filling out the rebate on-line was super easy.
Would shop in this store again: YES

Over All:

On-Time Delivery:
Customer Service:
Staples apparently hates customers
Review By: U3RhcGxlcw0K on Oct. 16, 2004

Summary: Staples seems to think that customers are a necessary evil, but that they can treat you with utter contempt and you will come back for more. I tried buying an item from their sale flyer. Not in stock. Come back in 2 days they said. I did. Not in stock. "Please give me a rain cheque", I say, "so I do not have to make yet another wasted trip". Against store policy, or so they claim. I pointed out a virtually identical item they did have in stock which had a regular price $1 more than the regular price for the sale item. No dice. The store manager offered a much smaller discount on the item I pointed out. Now why should I pay extra to get a virtually identical item, when they are the ones who sent me the junk mail offering to sell me something they don't have, have no idea when they will get it in, and don't care whether I get it anyway? Perhaps they saved themselves a buck or two by turning me away, but I guarantee they'll lose a lot more by me never returning and by telling lots of people how lousy they treated me.

Oh, FWIW, this was at the South Surrey store in BC.
Would shop in this store again: NO

Over All:

On-Time Delivery:
Customer Service:
All in all a good store but...
Review By: rafiaamer on Jan. 19, 2004

Summary: they have a tendency of messing up online orders. Otherwise, they are OK.
Would shop in this store again: YES

Over All:

On-Time Delivery:
Customer Service:
fast delivery
Review By: kmg on Dec. 1, 2003

Summary: very fast delivery. would shop again.
Would shop in this store again: YES


Staples ratings brought to you by xPricer.com.


Close To help other users like you Please describe why it doesn't work, such as wrong price, coupon not working, inaccurate description, etc.
No HTML please.
Name: (optional)

Laptop Deals  Desktop Deals  Cell Phone Deals  Digital Camera Deals  Google Phone Info  Black Friday
Dell Coupon  Best-Card.com  xpgadgets.com  XP Blogs  Facebook  Twitter  Mobile Deal News
Find best online deals & coupons on computer hardware & software, consumer electronics and more!

Add to My Yahoo! Add to Google Reader or Homepage Subscribe in NewsGator Online Add to netvibes Subscribe in Bloglines Add to My AOL

Subscribe to daily deals

Term of Use  Copyright ©2001-2009 xpBargains.com.