xpBargains Home | Dell Coupons | HP Coupons | Laptop Deals |
Surplus Computers Store Ratings & Reviews
Free Newsletter & Deal Alert

Surplus Computers

Average Overall Rating:

Average On-Time Delivery Rating:

Average Customer Service Rating:

Description: Computer hardware & software, as well as peripherals.

Go to store: Surplus Computers

More Information
View Store Deals
Read User Reviews (31)
Write Reviews


Surplus Computers Store Ratings & Reviews:


Over All:

On-Time Delivery:
Customer Service:
Waste of time
Review By: MCast on Jun. 30, 2010

Summary: Ordered two wireless ip cameras. Received a confirmation and invoice. Next day was told only one camera left. Asked them to send the one camera. Five days after order was placed got a Email telling me they were shipping one camera. Next day, six days after order was placed,was told there were no cameras available.
Would shop in this store again: NO

Over All:

On-Time Delivery:
Customer Service:
Surplus Computers - a company to stay away from!
Review By: jfs999 on Jun. 18, 2010

Summary: I purchased a Symbol PPT 2700 barcode scanner/PDA from this seller on Ebay. I was in the process of moving into my new house and since the scanner/PDA did not have a charging cable included, had to order a cable before I could test it. I finally received the power cable and tested the unit. The scanner, which was the feature I purchased the unit for, does not emit a laser light. The PDA itself is wonky and does not work correctly. I am not able to get back to a main (home?) screen because there is no way to close a subset screen. I requested a simple exchange for the same unit in working order and the management told me that because 60 days had passed, they would not make good on their merchandise. So now I own a PDA that doesn't do anything/a scanner that does not scan, and a separately-purchased power supply cradle and cord ($26.95 plus shipping and tax) that is useless to me. I believe the unit was known to be a non-working unit when it shipped and the seller hoped that I would be using it as a PDA and not as a scanner. I am now out close to $100 and will never buy another item from this seller.
Would shop in this store again: NO

Over All:

On-Time Delivery:
Customer Service:
home user
Review By: bseaves at suddenlink.net on Dec. 19, 2009

Summary: I ordered a "refurbished" laptop and store brand monitor. After I placed my order they promptly billed my cc. After about 3-4 days I checked on my order status, Still "processing". I e-mailed them to see if I could get a reply..No Luck. After a week I checked again.. Still "processing". At this time I sent them an e-mail asking that my order be cancelled and my cc credited.

Miraculously the next day when I checked my account again, the status was "Shipped". Still no reply's to any e-mails to their so called "Customer Service" after 2 weeks.

I did receive the "refurbished" Laptop after the usual UPS time. When I opened up the package I couldn't believe the junk they had sent.(Keyboard was so dirty I thought I would catch hepatitis) The laptop had Windows XP pre installed and after starting up it prompted me for an administator password. Again I tried e-mails to "Customer Service" with no luck. I finally order a laptop off of Overstock.com (Great Customer Support by the way) I have now requested an RMA to send the dirty junk back to SC. My credit is going to be about $120 less than I paid (restocking fee and shipping)

If you have never listened to a review before, please listen to this one. I am surprised the state of California has not stepped in and thrown these crooks in jail. STAY AWAY FROM SURPLUS COMPUTERS.COM
Would shop in this store again: NO

Over All:

On-Time Delivery:
Customer Service:
4 out of five advertised REBUILT COMPUTERS were DOA
Review By: Donald A on July 21, 2009------------------------- on Aug. 13, 2009

Summary: Ordered Five Rebuilt Computers. Four were inoperative, all were dirty and by all appearances were in BAD physical shape. This company ignores emails and does not give a da-- about their customers. This complaint was for merchandise purchased on JULY 21, 2009 -
Would shop in this store again: NO

Over All:

On-Time Delivery:
Customer Service:
Defective Equipment, No Customer Service
Review By: frankric on Jul. 6, 2009

Summary: I purchased a Dell GX280 P4 3.0Ghz for $129 + $30 shipping. It arrived within a week but was DOA. I requestd an RMA via email. It took another week to get an email verification of a RMA. The actual shipping label was to arrive within 5 days. That was over two weeks ago. No email response to repeated requests. No phone number available. In the past they probably refurbished equipment and verified it worked. Now no refurb, no verification and no customer support. DO NOT USE THESE PEOPLE.
Would shop in this store again: NO

Over All:

On-Time Delivery:
Customer Service:
Consultant
Review By: frankric on Jul. 6, 2009

Summary: I purchased a Dell GX280 P4 3.0Ghz for $129 + $30 shipping. It arrived within a week but was DOA. I requestd an RMA via email. It took another week to get an email verification of a RMA. The actual shipping label was to arrive within 5 days. That was over two weeks ago. No email response to repeated requests. No phone number available. In the past they probably refurbished equipment and verified it worked. Now no refurb, no verification and no customer support. DO NOT USE THESE PEOPLE.
Would shop in this store again: NO

Over All:

On-Time Delivery:
Customer Service:
These people are crooks. Terrible customer service
Review By: nashgeek on Jun. 10, 2009

Summary: They also have a website: www.surpluscomputers.net
Ordered a hard drive from them and got no confirmation. Here is the email they sent when I asked them about my order:
John, thank you for your reply. I was able to find the transaction, and it looks like you place an order through
our old website; in which we have discontinued for years. At this time, you may contact your credit card company to remove this transaction from your account.

If you will like to place an order, please visit our new website at www.surpluscomputers.com.

My response:
I will do that and I will remember in the future to never do business with you again. Why leave the site up and CHARGE my card when you have no intentions of filling the order. Sounds like a scam business to me. And WHY do I have to call to remove the charge. YOU should be doing that if your website is bogus. Please take the website down if you have no intention of selling anything from it. I'll be sure
Would shop in this store again: NO

Over All:

On-Time Delivery:
Customer Service:
NO NOT BUY FROM SURPLUS COMPUTERS
Review By: Insertdisk on Jan. 22, 2009

Summary: Poor quality and if it arrives DOA or the WRONG item, you pay shipping both ways. Stay away, find another company to do business with. The asses will take all you money, and make you wait for a refund for product only, and you eat shipping. Nothing good at surpluscomputers.
Would shop in this store again: NO

Over All:

On-Time Delivery:
Customer Service:
Radio Silence & Limbo
Review By: owen16_detroit on Jan. 7, 2009

Summary: Ordered a cheap POS barebones for a family memeber 30 days ago, no completion of sale. It's like my order is in purgatory.

Credit card has been marked for sale, but hasn't actually been billed. Bullshit scammers. Probably waiting until other customers funds run dry to hit my card to feed their Internet porn addictions.

After reading the other reviews, I don't want their ghetto ass used shit. Someone needs to take this place down hard.
Would shop in this store again: NO

Over All:

On-Time Delivery:
Customer Service:
Only Fools Provide No Customer Service
Review By: JPJ on Aug. 1, 2008

Summary: Ordered a used PC -- arrived DOA -- Like everyone else here, found that they don't answer their phone, the phone # they gave UPS is disconnected, they don't respond to emails or faxes.

I had to dispute the charge with CC. If every dissatisfied customer did this (vendors are required to provide a certain basic level of support) then they would be out of business fast. The vendor is the weak person in a CC dispute, VISA pulls the money out of their account plus a hefty service charge.
Would shop in this store again: NO

Over All:

On-Time Delivery:
Customer Service:
Stay away fromt this company
Review By: elsaghir on Jul. 6, 2008

Summary: I get their emails all the time and finally decided to give it a shot. I bout a Dell mini PC. my order did not give me an final confirmation and did not get an order number. I called my credit card and they charged me. I can not get anyone to reply to my email and answer me to tell me if they got my order going or when would they ship or even just let me know that they exist...
Stay away from this site and tell your friends...
Would shop in this store again: NO

Over All:

On-Time Delivery:
Customer Service:
Just say NO
Review By: Frustrated surplus hound on Jun. 16, 2008

Summary: I bought several spindles of their "blacked-out" blank CDR media. This is the stuff they advertise as "replicator grade" Taiyo-Yuden media that had some company label on. They painted over the label, and supposedly give you a discount because of the "pre-owned" status of the media. Good price, too, except for the RIDICULOUSLY high shipping. Well, the media arrived. It was mainly Taiyo Yuden, but 10% of the discs were some other off-brand junk. Worse, whoever did the blacking out handled the media with their fingers! There are fingerprints in paint all over the side that faces the laser. This means that you will get failed burns and produce a pile of coasters. Their reply? "Just wipe off the fingerprints." Unbelievable.

Avoid these incompetent, dishonest jackasses.
Would shop in this store again: NO

Over All:

On-Time Delivery:
Customer Service:
No Customer Service Whatsoever!
Review By: Another Surplus Computers Victim on Jan. 30, 2008

Summary: I've ordered a lot of gear from them over the years. Customer service has never been their strong suit, but it has taken a nosedive recently.

Their prices are decent, but it just isn't worth the risk - if there is any problem with your order, you are out of luck. AVOID THEM!
Would shop in this store again: NO

Over All:

On-Time Delivery:
Customer Service:
sucker
Review By: gotstungtwice on Jan. 20, 2008

Summary: invoce items and shipped items can be mismatched and no commumincation is possible online or by phone.
Would shop in this store again: NO

Over All:

On-Time Delivery:
Customer Service:
SURPLUS COMPUTERS GONE REAL BAD
Review By: a former customer on Jan. 7, 2008

Summary: I ordered what thought was one thing and due to an incorrect link to the product in the web email they sent me I received a different product.
NO CUSTOMER SERVICE WHATSOEVER.
This used to be a good store, now apparently run by complete idiots.
AVOID AT ALL COSTS!!!!!
(and tell your friends)
Would shop in this store again: NO

Over All:

On-Time Delivery:
Customer Service:
They have some good deals, sell some crap
Review By: Greggen on Dec. 8, 2007

Summary: Shipping price charged is horrible, do have some real bargains, but if you have a problem, you have a very hard time getting in contact with surplus computers to get it resolved.
Buyer beware
Would shop in this store again: NO

Over All:

On-Time Delivery:
Customer Service:
Surplus Computers
Review By: WWW.SURPLUS COMPUTERS.SHIT on Oct. 21, 2007

Summary: I AM FACING THE SAME PROBLEMS TOO. BE WISE STAY AWAY FROM SURPLUS COMPUTERS. NO CUSTOMER SERVICE AT ALL. I HAD SEARCH ON GOOGLE FOR THEIR PHONE #. AND THEY DONOT ANSWER CALLS NO VOICEMAIL. CROOKS.
Would shop in this store again: NO

Over All:

On-Time Delivery:
Customer Service:
SURPLUS COMPUTERS
Review By: SURPLUS COMPUTERS on Oct. 21, 2007

Summary: I SPEND MOST MY MONEY SHOPPING ONLINE. IT HAS BEEN A NIGHTAMRE WHEN I SHOPPED AT THIS WEBSITE surpluscomputers.com. YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED, STAY AWAY FROM THIS SHOP. NO CUSTMER SERVICE ETC.
Would shop in this store again: NO

Over All:

On-Time Delivery:
Customer Service:
Terrible Terrible Terrible..... from a frequent online buyer
Review By: happi_phase on Sep. 20, 2007

Summary: I spend half my discretionary income online, I patronize many different e-tailers. Surplus Computers is by far the worse experience I've ever had. Even amateur sellers on Ebay are better than Surplus. The computer accessories I purchased were faulty, and I wanted to exchange them for functional product. However, you need to email their Technical support to get a shipment #. I've sent a total of 8 emails across 8 weeks, no response. I just sent them back the product, demanding a refund. No response. I've never had to deal directly with my credit card company to dispute charges, until now. Be smart, choose anyone EXCEPT for Surplus Computers.
Would shop in this store again: NO

Over All:

On-Time Delivery:
Customer Service:
If you love getting kicked in the nuts...
Review By: DieSC on Sep. 11, 2007

Summary: Horrible store. Don't let their low prices fool you, they claim items to be new but when I got mine it was broken so I had to ship it back on my dime and then never heard from these a-holes. I sent emails and called and now I am going to contact the better business bureau.
Would shop in this store again: NO

Over All:

On-Time Delivery:
Customer Service:
Bad experience
Review By: Bad on Aug. 30, 2007

Summary: Ordered several item and but only one arrived. The others seem to be canceled without any notification! Emailed them and no replies.
And shipping cost charged for one item is unreasonable.
Will never shop there again!!!
Would shop in this store again: NO

Over All:

On-Time Delivery:
Customer Service:
FRAUD
Review By: dnphoenix on Aug. 27, 2007

Summary: This is the worst business I have ever delt with. After several attempts at contact regarding an order placed with them I still have never heard from a sole in the business. Emails, phone calls, etc. went unanswered. Good thing my account wasn't billed, but despite that fact it was definitely worth my time to file a complaint with the California Depatrment of Revenue and the Better Business Bureau. This place needs to be shut down!
Would shop in this store again: NO

Over All:

On-Time Delivery:
Customer Service:
Fraud
Review By: Kakilefe on Aug. 24, 2007

Summary: I ordered wireless mouse sets. They were supposedly refurbished with a 90 warranty. On both items, the USB receiver was missing. They were in little plastic bags missing the nice cloth case and scratched up. Especially: The item/serial numbers were scratched out. Refubished with 90 warranty or black market? What bull! So I've been trying for over a week now to get in touch with them by any means to several email addresses. No luck. If they screw up your order, you're screwed. I'm amazed they are still in business - surely there are laws against misrepresentation of items!
Even when I do get in touch with them, I have to pay the shipping to fix THEIR mistake, so what started as a good deal will end up costing me more. Oh yeah, and I'm supposed to get an RMA number request form and request a number via fax? I'm about to leave on a trip! I have never had worse customer service.
Would shop in this store again: NO

Over All:

On-Time Delivery:
Customer Service:
They ship products with missing parts.
Review By: ajaykg68 on Feb. 17, 2007

Summary: They supply OEM items and thus may not have original packaging. But they don't even have complete parts. They just ship mail part and leave everything. Of course you don't get any documentation.
Would shop in this store again: NO

Over All:

On-Time Delivery:
Customer Service:
WARNING: DO NOT EVERY BUY FROM THIS STORE!!!!!
Review By: obeng on Aug. 15, 2006

Summary: WARNING: DO NOT EVERY BUY FROM THIS STORE!!!!!
Bought a mouse and it's said a new condition. It finally shipped 1 week after order date. It came in the big yellow envelope and inside, the mouse was wrape in the plastic bag. Is this a FUCKING BRAND NEW ITEM????

DON'T BUY FROM THIS FUCKING STORE..... THEY SELLING USED STUFF.
Would shop in this store again: NO

Over All:

On-Time Delivery:
Customer Service:
They are CROOKS!! AVOID ALL YOU CAN!!
Review By: Surplus Trash on Mar. 19, 2006

Summary: I purchased a Microsoft Trackball Optical Wheel Mouse USB from these crooks.

On the website, the condition says NEW, but what they sent me was a dirty and damaged mouse.

The wheel was broken and un-scrollable.
There were dirts and grime all over in the red optical parts, and under the mouse.

I wanted a NEW Microsoft Trackball Optical Wheel Mouse USB, not this trash.

These guys did not send a NEW product, but sent a USED garbage.

I am also submitting official complaints to BBB, Consumer Affairs, and FTC.

AVOID ALL YOU CAN!!
Would shop in this store again: NO

Over All:

On-Time Delivery:
Customer Service:
Surplus Computer is full of nice surprises
Review By: pigcity on Jan. 27, 2006

Summary: I love this store. I await their email and look for the gems of goodness. Most days, I find nothing, but when I fight something, it will be cheap and the shipping and buying is very easy.
Would shop in this store again: YES

Over All:

On-Time Delivery:
Customer Service:
No Problems!
Review By: MM on Jan. 14, 2006

Summary: I have been buying from Surplus Computers for a couple of years now and have experienced no problems.
Would shop in this store again: YES

Over All:

On-Time Delivery:
Customer Service:
No problems
Review By: zenergy on Mar. 31, 2005

Summary: I ordered an oem nero cd from these guys and had absolutely no problem. I got a great deal and the cd arrived in about a week. Everything was new and exactly as described.
Would shop in this store again: YES

Over All:

On-Time Delivery:
Customer Service:
Listed New! But my 1-year old mouse looks much better than their new mouse!!!
Review By: KP on Feb. 25, 2005

Summary:
Wish I could give them negative star or something. Bought Microsoft optical cordless mouse which listed on the website as "New" for the condition. Got the mouse with condition nowhere near "New" condition. There are some hard-not-to-notice scratches on its back and feet. Not to mention how filthy the trackball and the rubber part are. My 1-year old mouse looks much much better than than. I still can't believe someone actually sell the used mouse and advertise it as a "NEW" merchandise!!! They don't even worth one star here. I'm not gonna go through the RMA process, don't think it worth my time. Think again if you want to buy something from this store!!!!
Would shop in this store again: NO

Over All:

On-Time Delivery:
Customer Service:
frustrated
Review By: P on Jan. 7, 2005

Summary: I basically ordered logitech cordless controllers from this store and included in a couple of other small items.
First off the shiping was teribble for these products but being from the west coast to the midwest I thought well it might be just a little tool long. I finally got the items and after trying them I noticed each controller had one of the buttons malfuctioning. Trying to contact anyone from the store is hopeless. First you must email the tech support regardless of the problem or leave your name and number and hope they call you back. Finally tech support told me to contact the returns department for a RMA# then you have like 10 days to send it back which isn't a problem but for the time it took for them to get back to me it seemed rediculous. The return policy is store credit but thank god they were willing to give me a credit on my card. I had to contact them 4 weeks after they signed for my package to get the ball rolling again. I just got an email where they agreed to credited my account for the defective item. I just hope they follow through. Not a pleasant experience at all and I purchase a lot through the net. My advise is buyer beware and shop somewhere else.
Would shop in this store again: NO


Surplus Computers ratings brought to you by xPricer.com.


Close To help other users like you Please describe why it doesn't work, such as wrong price, coupon not working, inaccurate description, etc.
No HTML please.
Name: (optional)

Laptop Deals  Desktop Deals  Cell Phone Deals  Digital Camera Deals  Google Phone Info  Black Friday
Dell Coupon  Best-Card.com  xpgadgets.com  XP Blogs  Facebook  Twitter  Mobile Deal News
Find best online deals & coupons on computer hardware & software, consumer electronics and more!

Add to My Yahoo! Add to Google Reader or Homepage Subscribe in NewsGator Online Add to netvibes Subscribe in Bloglines Add to My AOL

Subscribe to daily deals

Term of Use  Copyright ©2001-2009 xpBargains.com.